Talk

Advanced search

How do you find freelance copywriting work

(10 Posts)
hayleybeach Sat 16-Feb-19 12:07:12

Where do I find freelance copywriting/web content writing work?
I set up on my own six months ago and have had nothing.

I'm a trained journalist (15 years) with marketing and business experience. I'm teaching myself social media skills SEO etc (anyone know of free courses??)

Thing is that I'm not really sure how to find potential jobs. I initially targeted start ups locally but they find they have no budget for content writers (I believe it's money well spent - but then I would!)

How do I go about searching for work? Tried my old contacts - zilch. I'm not keen on setting up my own website as it puts me out there too much!

Word of mouth doesn't seem to be getting me anywhere. Can anyone point me in the right direction? Agencies? Just keep ringing round firms in hope? Really know I could make a go of it if I could get a my foot in the door. Thank you.

AgentProvocateur Sat 16-Feb-19 12:14:29

I dip in and out of freelancing when I’m between jobs. I usually work for ex-employers and contacts though. Frankly, if you’re not going to get work that way, you’re shooting yourself in the foot by not having a website.

Why should anyone who doesn’t know you give you any work when they can’t see what you can do?

MaverickSnoopy Sat 16-Feb-19 12:47:40

Have you joined this group on Facebook? https://www.facebook.com/groups/freelancelifestyle/ it's very good and the person who runs it has a free course designed to tell you how to be a freelancer and where to find work.

Start ups are a good idea - branch out from the local area and look at technology hubs and innovation corridors across the country. Also look at https://www.lepnetwork.net where you should be able to gain access to free courses and networking events.