Talk

Advanced search

Help/Advice needed for new play group

(5 Posts)
xxHelenExx Tue 09-May-17 21:05:13

Hi, I was wondering if I could get some feedback from all of you lovely mums out there... I'm a qualified teacher looking for a new venture. I was thinking of starting a new play group for pre-school children, aged 2-5, and would love any advice/input. My play group would be mainly a board games club where mums and their children could come and play games in the company of other children their age. Board games hold so much educational value and a club like this would teach children the vital skills of turn taking and sharing with others, not to mention learning that they can't always win! Early Maths and English development, fine motor skills are a few of the benefits of board games. All of this in a safe environment with their parents/careers. I would offer craft activities alongside this as well as other toys, with a group game at the end such as The Farmer's in his Den etc. Refreshments would be offered as well! If all went well I would open it up to school age children in the holidays as well, with age appropriate games.
Does this sound like the type of group you would be interested in taking your child? How much would you be willing to pay for a group like this? Any feedback/advice would be greatly appreciated for me to see whether this would be a viable group for me to run! Thank you!xx

OP’s posts: |
2littlemoos Tue 13-Jun-17 14:04:55

It's always nice to hear of different kinds of groups. If my DD was, maybe 4, I would definitely go.

But at 2 I probably wouldn't. As much as she loves crafts and learning things, you can't beat letting her run around, climing, chasing, balancing etc. At this age I would rather pay (like I do) for soft play and toddler sense etc. because she is getting something I can't offer at home.