Talk

Advanced search

Shelley charlesworth & Labour Party self ID motion

(10 Posts)
expatmatt78 Fri 23-Feb-18 03:23:05

Sorry in advance if this has already been spoken about on here. I had to share as I may have even gone beyond peak trans.
Ladies I only began to learn about any of this this year and only from reading on MN and following up with other reading.
Part of me now wishes i still didn't know about any of it and was blissfully aware as I'm reading so much daily that gives me the rage. I'm sure i would be considered a TERF by the TRAs but I haven't been blocked by LM yet so have some way to go !
Anyway to get to the point I saw this on LM twitter (hope I can include image sorry it's my first time )
LM tweet and the motion Shelley was trying to speak out about and the speech she was trying to make.
In the end this was voted FOR and she sounds so defeated on Twitter about it.

expatmatt78 Fri 23-Feb-18 03:24:07

Sorry her speech is unclear I took it from Twitter I'll see if I can improve

expatmatt78 Fri 23-Feb-18 03:28:05

New post from her too

LittleLebowski Fri 23-Feb-18 06:03:58

"He ain't heavy, he's my non-binary sibling!"
"We are family! I've got all my non-binary siblings with me!"
Yes, North Islington CLP are definitely on the right track there. Let us arise, non-binary siblings etc.

swivelchair Fri 23-Feb-18 06:30:35

Why on earth does it need to be a 'non-binary sibling' and not just a 'sibling'? What if you define yourself as a binary sibling (Christ, the things we say these days)

TallulahWaitingInTheRain Fri 23-Feb-18 08:42:59

Gender is a hierarchy, not a binary. I'm a non-hierarchical sibling.

MadamMinacious Fri 23-Feb-18 09:01:18

I'm more concerned she wasn't allowed to finish speaking. That isn't really conducive to debate and hearing both sides is it?

PilarTernera Fri 23-Feb-18 09:01:28

I don't think SC sounds defeated. She later tweeted 'we're not silenced. I have never felt more confident about speaking out.'