We rely on advertising to keep the lights on.

Please consider adding us to your whitelist.

loader

Talk

Advanced search

OK, I'm a novice in this topic, but this doesn't seem right

(25 Posts)
Gasp0deTheW0nderD0g Fri 10-Mar-17 16:30:49

On Twitter today I came across a long thread of people discussing whether there is any validity to the idea of male lactation and male pregnancy. I haven't looked into this (there's a link to an academic article confused) because I was so struck by the response of a female academic. Image attached.

Is it me, or is it very offensive to say that Sigourney Weaver is more masculine than Marilyn Monroe because (presumably) she dresses in unisex clothing, has an engineering qualification and job and takes the lead role in Alien?

Lumbricina Fri 10-Mar-17 16:52:14

I don't disagree with what she's saying - gender is a societal construct and society views MM as more feminine that SW.

HmmOkay Fri 10-Mar-17 17:10:28

I don't really understand that. What do people men by feminine? Where is it written that feminine = short skirt and big boobs? By that definition Caitlyn Jenner is more feminine than most women in the world.

Can we turn it around and ask people to give examples of famous men that they consider to be masculine?

And then some examples of famous men that they consider to be less masculine?

I have a feeling that people will shy away from categorising men in such a way, particularly in referring to men as "not very masculine". And how do these men struggle when they are forced into 'masculine roles'? And what exactly are 'masculine roles'?

I am a bit at sea with it all.

HmmOkay Fri 10-Mar-17 17:11:52

Freudian slip there.

What do people mean by feminine?

Gasp0deTheW0nderD0g Fri 10-Mar-17 17:12:51

I'm completely at sea here. Glad it's not just me!

HmmOkay Fri 10-Mar-17 17:21:50