Talk

Advanced search

Survivors of relationships with Male to Trans partners

(15 Posts)
TinselAngel Thu 09-Feb-17 18:12:38

I'm not aware of any support groups for people whose children's Father subsequently decides he is a woman. If there's anybody else on here who has experienced this, I'd be really interested in sharing experiences. And as I'm now divorced and a long way down the line maybe I could be of help to others still in the midst of it?

I'm new to mumsnet- is there a direct message facility? Or alternatively, post here

HelenDenver Fri 10-Feb-17 06:31:15

Nice idea.

I think there might be a transparenting topic somewhere...

HelenDenver Fri 10-Feb-17 06:32:42

No, I was wrong. There is a topic for LGBT parents and one for LGBT children.
www.mumsnet.com/Talk/lgbt_parents

TinselAngel Fri 10-Feb-17 07:43:02

Thanks Helen, but I'm none of the above.

Datun Fri 10-Feb-17 08:53:09

tinsel

There was a young woman on here a while ago whose father had transitioned. She posted but I'm not sure came back so the thread petered out. I believe she was fairly distressed, but with the advanced search function not working at the moment I'm not sure how you will find that thread.

There was also a woman whose husband had transitioned who found the entire thing exceptionally difficult, especially as, doing counselling, she was the one who was expected to compromise.

Again, without the advanced search working I'm not sure how you will find her.

On each post there are three dots in the bottom right hand corner if you click on those and click on pm (private message) you can send personal messages to people.

This board is fairly trans critical. And by that I mean we see it as an erosion of women's rights. Not that we don't agree that trans people should have all the other rights accrued to men and women, just that transwomen aren't actually women.

I'm guessing if you are divorced, you have had a fairly tough time of it. I hope you are doing better. flowers