Talk

Advanced search

Name change and bureaucratic issues - how insistent to be?

(18 Posts)
ARoseByAnyOther Fri 23-Jan-15 15:08:07

Hello all!

A few months ago I posted a thread on here about changing my name back to my original name after initially changing it when I got married. My DH had a double barrelled name of which I was planning to drop one half and add my original surname to instead (e.g. Smith-Brown to Smith-Horton).

Well, I have since changed it! Indeed, following on from some thoughts raised by the thread, I decided go the whole hog and just have a totally different name from my DH - no barrelling, just the surname I was born with. I'm extremely happy with my decision! grin

Anyway - then began the gargantuan task of taking my deed poll (as usually you need a decree absolute to revert to your original surname...) around getting the name recognised. I have run into something of a problem with the University which I am currently a PhD student at.

University email addresses at my institution are based on a username which is based on your initials and a number to distinguish you from people with the same initials. So the username assigned when I started was, say, "rsb21". I imagined that on changing my name my username and therefore my email address would change to reflect my new initials ("rh32"). As I want to be able to hand out an academic email address to students, new colleagues, and people I meet professionally outside of the university, it matters a lot to me that it 'matches' the name I have chosen to be known by.