Talk

Advanced search

God I never worried about this when I was 21

(46 Posts)
rubberglove Fri 21-Sep-12 21:58:55

Did you? Were you really aware of feminist theory when you were a young un?

LastMangoInParis Fri 21-Sep-12 22:05:05

Not really aware, no. But had some idea...
Actually, even then I think I had some idea that I'd need more life experience to have a lived understanding. That sounds proper wanky, perhaps, but it's how it is and was, and I'm fine with that.

MousyMouse Fri 21-Sep-12 22:07:00

no, never.
when I was young I was so sure nothing would be in my way and the world was just perfect apart from carrot style jeans

Nagoo Fri 21-Sep-12 22:10:24

Yup.

I did a gender studies degree.

madwomanintheattic Fri 21-Sep-12 22:23:41

At 21 I was trying to persuade the Marines to ditch their single sex requirements so that I could prove women were capable of passing the course.

They were too fraidy.

So I joined a different branch of the military and got given a secondary duty of babysitting coordinator, by virtue of my gender. And when I whupped the men's arses in physical training I was accused of cheating. And I had to leave formal events at a particular time in the evening, so that the menfolk could smoke cigars and play rugby in the bar. I'm not 110, this was in the 1990's.

That said, when I eventually left and went back to uni as a mature student, it was chock full of 21yos who believed that the world was an equal place. Even the women. I nearly died of shock and gave a huge lecture to the utter bemusement of the instructor who was attempting to broach a discussion about gender equality.

So I think it depends a lot on how much actual honest to goodness sex based discrimination you have been faced with. If you have never tried to do anything other than toe a gender- scribed line, then life is going to look pretty rosy.

Of course, most women get it writ large with the baby thang.