Talk

Advanced search

Sexist headteacher

(7 Posts)
GladbagsAndYourHandrags Fri 07-Oct-11 13:26:52

I'm a bit new to this section of MN but often lurk. Am hoping that you can help me think this situation through.

Been looking at schools for DC, and there is one which I would like to prefer. However sadly the headteacher (male) seems to be rather misogynistic. Or maybe just an idiot. I am basing this on a talk he gave at their open evening which included:

Joke about how he worries about what his wife will have cooked him for dinner
Comment re. boys would rather play football than read books (along with a lecture about getting rid of TV to get boys to read)
Remark that there is no excuse for not walking to school (I wondered if this is because he sees a mums role as SAHM not WOHM that needs to get to work on time!)

I'm wondering how much this is going to affect the school? It has really put me off. I have one DS and one DD and don't want either of them thinking the above sort of attitude is normal/acceptable. Then again am I overthinking things... arrrgghh

Is it better to enrol DC at the school and challenge this sort of attitude, or just not go there in the first place?

I feel really annoyed that sexism is affecting my DC education.

(Yes I have namechanged in case anyone recognises the school/me)

CailinDana Fri 07-Oct-11 13:53:13

I can understand your worry but as a teacher I'd say that the headteacher has very little direct contact with individual children so I don't think it's a big issue. It'd be more of a problem if the teacher your children were going to have had this attitude. Still, it is annoying that a person like him is setting the tone for the school and you might want to check out further was the atmosphere of the place is like - a headteacher who isn't well liked by the staff can create a very tense atmosphere that can affect the children.

thechairmanmeow Fri 07-Oct-11 13:55:45