Please tell me this is a windup

(63 Posts)
Theresaholeinyourmind Sun 03-Oct-10 15:57:09

Hi all,
Newbie here, lurking for a few weeks now and learning a lot. I haven't felt the need to post before but I just read an article in the Telegraph today about compulsive veil wearing in some schools
and I am beyond disturbed. Apologies for lack of link, can't work out how to do it.
Let me point out that I hate the idea of laws on what you can wear and not wear, was sort of against a UK burka ban as I thought it ultimately wouldn't help the people involved. But this, if true, is a bit much to me. Comments?

sarah293 Sun 03-Oct-10 15:59:22

Message withdrawn

sethstarkaddersmum Sun 03-Oct-10 16:00:43

here?
I'm assuming not a wind-up.
and yes, not good.

SleepingLion Sun 03-Oct-10 16:02:23

compulsive veil wearing? As in women/girls wearing the veil as a response to an irresistible urge to do so? confused

It tells you how to do links to the right of the box where you type your message, btw.

sarah293 Sun 03-Oct-10 16:02:30

Message withdrawn

Theresaholeinyourmind Sun 03-Oct-10 16:06:23

LOL @ compulsive, sorry post in haste and so on ahem compulsory!
Am posting and running now, oppressed female going to feed the family, will be back later to read and learn

Theresaholeinyourmind Sun 03-Oct-10 16:08:01

And re links, I can't find the symbol I need, this is a foreign keyboard

Susiewho Sun 03-Oct-10 16:12:25

It's an absolute disgrace!

MrsFlittersnoop Sun 03-Oct-10 16:17:44

Independent schools can impose any uniform policy they want. Why is anyone remotely surprised? It's called "parental choice".

Inflammatory Daily Telegraph headline designed to make people think their daughters will be forced to wear niquab at local comprehensive.

dittany Sun 03-Oct-10 16:17:45

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

StewieGriffinsMom Sun 03-Oct-10 16:21:31

MrsFlittersnoop Sun 03-Oct-10 16:22:58