Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Middle management

(7 Posts)
ArghMyEyesMyEyes Fri 17-Sep-10 20:45:04

I'm an avid reader of this topic on MN. I don't contribute much because of many reasons, largely because I'm not highly educated (all my own fault).

I work in the medical field. Before this, I worked in education.

There are somewhere between little and no men that work in offices in this capacity.

Men seem to work in either manual or top level management.

Why's that, then?

I work in an office that houses somewhere in the region of thirty women. WOMEN. Not a single man.

When applying for jobs having been made redundant a year ago, I was exclusively interviewed by women, for jobs in offices.

It seems to me that men are employed either at the top or the bottom of the hierarchy but not in the middle.

Why's this, please?

Suzihaha Sat 18-Sep-10 10:38:19

I don't know which fields you mean but in investment banking, men outnumber women in every level and in every department (except for admin and HR). In my experience anyway.

sethstarkaddersmum Sat 18-Sep-10 10:41:53

I think it depends. In universities there are plenty of men in the middle.

It probably just says something about the fields you work in.

There are also plenty of women working at the bottom.... and arguably lower down than the men, in that women's unskilled work is generally lower paid than men's.

Ephiny Sat 18-Sep-10 11:15:46

"I don't know which fields you mean but in investment banking, men outnumber women in every level and in every department (except for admin and HR). In my experience anyway."