Talk

Advanced search

Paycut for work/life balance

(15 Posts)
Indigo89 Sat 04-Mar-17 17:12:54

I'm a teacher and have been offered a job, by a friend of a friend, in a totally different profession which would free up my evenings and weekends (I currently mark and plan every week night and 1 day on a weekend) but it's a big pay cut. Approx 8k less.

I feel like jumping at the chance to claw back any kind of personal life and time with family. My only reservation is coping on less income. We would still be able to pay the mortgage and household bills but wouldn't be able to afford the treats and extras we've become accustomed to.

Has anyone else taken a pay cut for the sake of family time together? Do you regret it? How did you find it financially?

BackforGood Sat 04-Mar-17 23:13:57

Yes, in so much as I went from FT to PT rather than another career.
100% the right decision.
Yes, there will always be things we can't afford, but the relief of getting some small part of life back was - and remains - immense.

You just need - if changing careers - to be 100% true that you will get your life back, and that it isn't just a situation where the grass looks greener but isn't once you actually get there. Can you talk to others already doing it ? Go and shadow people in your holidays? Or if not even have a phone conversation or take someone out for a coffee or lunch to question them ? Ask them what the 3 worst things are about the job ? I mean, everyone has moans about their jobs, I'm sure - you just need to be certain they are things you can manage.

OrangeSquashTallGlass Sat 04-Mar-17 23:16:56

I'm a teacher and I'm fully jealous of what you're describing. I think I would take it but I can see why you're unsure.

squizita Thu 30-Mar-17 14:53:11

I changed my role within teaching - a 4k pay cut but better work life balance.