Feeling so horribly guilty about missing DS's 3rd birthday

(5 Posts)
phoenixrose314 Fri 11-Mar-16 11:48:07

We are having a small celebration with family at our home this weekend, but his birthday is on Tuesday - I work full time as a teacher in a local primary school and was hoping I could move some release time to use to spend the morning or afternoon with him, but no it looks like I'll be at work 7.30-4.30 as usual, completely missing his special day.

I keep getting tearful and snapping at the children I do work with. Feels like a big milestone this year as he's growing up, starting preschool and applying for Reception - and I can't believe I am going to miss it.

Yes I know he won't know any different. But the thought of packing him off to nursery to spend the day with them instead of being with his mum just makes me feel so guilty, so awful for always having to choose my work over him. I have struggled this year at the best of times, but right now I feel like I've missed the first three years and I will never get that time back.

Sorry. Crumbling right now. Please make me feel better.

Twistedheartache Fri 11-Mar-16 11:52:45

Look at it as him getting the best of both worlds - a party at nursery with his friends & family party at the weekend.
Make his actual birthday as special as possible (for you not him - he won't be bothered) so open a couple of presents in the morning & have a little cake & presents in the evening.
Don't feel guilty about things you can't change. Next year he'll be at pre-school & following year in reception so you'll celebrate at different times anyway

traviata Fri 11-Mar-16 11:54:15

Please don't feel bad. He will get a fuss made of him at nursery and he will have a lovely celebration at the weekend.