Talk

Advanced search

New to full time WOHP - struggling with own DCs

(6 Posts)
Asleeponasunbeam Thu 11-Jun-15 06:09:07

Hi, I'm struggling a bit - not feeling I'm giving my DC anywhere near enough time. And when I am with them, it's not quality time as I'm still in my work head.

This is my situation: DC 6 and 3. I've been working part time, but full time for the last two months. I started a new, full time job this week. I will have all school holidays off.

Dd is at school then after school club. DS has a nanny for 1.5 days and nursery for the rest. Nanny does all morning school runs, I do after school club/ nursery pick ups. Both DC very happy at school and nursery, but by the time I pick them up they're tired and grouchy. It's a twenty minute drive home and then tea and bed!

I suppose my first weeks in the new job are going to be hard. Maybe I'll be able to switch off a bit more when I'm more settled. Any tips for really staying connected with small children when you don't see them enough?

princesssofiasmum Thu 11-Jun-15 06:26:03

I found switching from pt to ft took both me and my dd about a month or so to "bed in". DD was exhausted from ft nursery and was falling asleep in the car on the way home, making for fractious evenings. It all sorted itself out in time though and you're only 1 week in! Also if I understand correctly this is a brand new job? So that's got to be taking up a lot of head space. Since going ft I only do dd baths every 2nd night unless really needed and save hair washing for weekends which gives us a bit more cuddle and story time. While the weather is warm go easy on yourself and do cold suppers - I used to love finger food meals when I was a kid! Bit of chopped carrot, cucumber, boiled eggs, ham whatever but you can chuck it on the plate and be feeding them within 5 mins of getting in the door.