Talk

Advanced search

in a real quandry - please tell me what youd do.

(12 Posts)
ThatVikRinA22 Fri 25-Sep-09 17:07:27

this is a sticky wicket. am already feeling horrible about it actually...

ive been offered a lovely new job, and i want it. its local to where i live, and it fits exactly what i need - the money and hours are great and my new employers seem lovely - its for my doctors.

now the problem. i have been working for someone for the last 10 months where i didnt really settle, crap boss etc, a long commute and rubbish money to boot - whilst there i applied for the police. i didnt expect to get anywhere. i have - and ive got the assessment centre process next month.
if i get through the assessment centre they will write to my GP for my medical records - i will still be on probation in my job for MY GP!!!
if i tell them now they will simply retract their offer of employment and if i dont get through the assessment centre they never need to know anyway....
if i do get through the assessment centre it will be a miracle anyway and id be ecstactic but then id have to tell my brand new employers that in X months (could be from 6 months to 2 years) i will be leaving...i hate feeling so dishonest, but if i tell them now and THEN fail the centre ill have no job at all...feel in a horrible dilemma.
WWYD?

Pennies Fri 25-Sep-09 17:08:41

change GP - take the GP job and continue with the police assessment.

hf128219 Fri 25-Sep-09 17:09:21

Take the job at the surgery. Then see how you get on at the Assessment Centre.

Flamesparrow Fri 25-Sep-09 17:09:42

Take the job at the Drs.

You could be hit by a bus in the next x months. You can't turn down one good job on the basis of possibly maybe having to quit at some point in the future.

Flamesparrow Fri 25-Sep-09 17:10:28

I think I would change GP anyway tbh. I'm not sure I want my employers knowing my medical whatnots.

EldonAve Fri 25-Sep-09 17:15:56

I would change GP

ThatVikRinA22 Fri 25-Sep-09 17:37:12