Talk

Advanced search

can't afford a party this year what to do for birthday without upsetting school clique

(30 Posts)
micramummy Tue 15-Sep-09 10:45:30

My dd is 6 in november, her primary school is really quite cliquey and the parties are getting ridiculous, I am a student nurse and just cant afford to do a party this year. I suggested she invite 5 girls to a little princess tea party at home and keep it small and cheap but she said her other friends will get upset......she is probably right, AND the bloody parents! hmm

she is an only child and thrives on having friends over but how do you do this?

random Tue 15-Sep-09 10:49:05

I would just invite the 5 friends .my dcs never had whole class parties when they were small... I never really was part of the party politics at the school gates tho grin

GodzillasBumcheek Tue 15-Sep-09 10:53:06

Have the small tea party and make sure she realises that if her other friends know why she can't invite them all but still get stroppy, they aren't that good friends are they?

As for the parents...who gives a crap? Can't stand it when people do the old 'well you didn't invite Persepoop to your DDs party so she's not coming to mine'. How childish.

GodzillasBumcheek Tue 15-Sep-09 10:54:02

Ok maybe things aren't as clear cut as that, but they blardy well should be!

Carrotfly Tue 15-Sep-09 10:56:07

I would just have the party at home with the 5 class mates. Much more special in my opinion.

I dont think its unusual to go your own way. Some of the more pushy mums might give you a hmm but so what ?

You have to make the decision tbh, not your 6 ear old.

<<words of wisdom from a mother with a stroppy 12 yr old>>

micramummy Tue 15-Sep-09 10:56:23

well Im not either I just know that she has been invited to lots of parties and we cant possibly invite them all back?