Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Work...

(6 Posts)
resipsa Thu 26-Oct-17 16:36:43

I’m on the horns of a dilemma and would welcome some wise words. I’m 47, married, two daughters (2 and 6). I’ve been back at work as a solicitor for a year since my last stint of maternity leave finished. I work for a large firm, am pretty well paid for my 3 days a week, get good benefits and my boss is very flexible (for the likes of sickness, parents’ meetings, assemblies etc). I’ve been doing the same work for 25 years so am also pretty independent (left to get on in peace). The downside is I hate the job. It’s boring. I have to be up and in really early to ensure I’m back home to pick up the children. I had to move teams on my return because the work I used to do just wasn’t there anymore. I don’t feel part of the new team because I’m older than the rest of them and only in 2 or 3 days a week. I just feel that I’ve had enough of it but am reluctant to give up the good bits voluntarily as gaining the same level of trust elsewhere would take effort and years (not to mention the pay, benefits and flexibility). We could live without my pay but it’d be different.
WWYD? Suck it up for now while the flexibility is so important then look at something new in 5 years or so OR jack it it now and try to be happier at work elsewhere on the basis that it’s not all about the money...?

twotired Thu 26-Oct-17 16:39:02

I'd search for more happiness if you aren't dependant on the money.

Life is so short, if you have an option then I personally wouldn't spend my time working somewhere I didn't enjoy.

You'd need to be prepared for a lower level of flexibility potentially, though.

MrsExpo Sun 29-Oct-17 12:06:14