Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

New job - feeling left out

(4 Posts)
Lauraadele18 Tue 10-Oct-17 20:09:37

Hi ladies,
Ive started a new job in the same company but my new team that i am sat wih dont talk much.....and when they do they dont really talk to me. They are all older than me by around 20 years+ although there is a loud young girl who sits behind our team and she gets them talking - but however hard i try and include myself theu dont seem interested. Going back to just my team, i do a slightly different job to them, so i cant even spark up a conversation by asking for their help or opinion. Im also not very good at making conversation, im very muh an introvert so starting conversation is something im not good at. I try to make a coulple of conversations a day but they are short lived. The team are a heads down team and quite studious and when they do talk 75% of the time its about work - whereby i cant join in. However....there is a lady who sits next to me and i tried making conversation with her monday asking her did you have a nice weekend she said yes did you and that was it. When another team member asked her she started telling him about picking up a pottery item she made and they had a laugh and a joke...why didnt she tell me? Im not sure what to do because i hate feeling left out and lonely. Im considering looking for a new job because its getting to me that much. I thought maybe its me giving off a cold vibe, but my old team visit me to ask questions or to say hello and i have a great happy positive convo with them, surely my team would see this and want me to be part of their convos ? I have only been in the job 3 weeks but they have not really asked me anything about myself during this time unless i have pushed them to ask. Any help or thoughts is much appreciated.
Thanks

Shoxfordian Tue 10-Oct-17 20:58:09

Just keep your head down and get on with your work. Don't worry about talking to colleagues too much.