Talk

Advanced search

Name at uni

(10 Posts)
Kel1234 Thu 13-Oct-16 10:29:39

Long story short, I'm just looking for opinions, which I realise will vary due to the wide array of opinions on marriage and name change after marriage.
I completed my first year of uni in my maiden name. I took a break to have my baby, during which time I also got married, and when I did so I took my husbands name as I'm very traditional.
I went back to uni this year, and of course I changed my name so it's all in my married name. This means I will also graduate in my married name, which to me wasn't a problem.
I told a friend of mine, who said personally they thought I should have kept my maiden name at uni so I graduate using that name, because my degree is mine, and I started it in that name so I should finish it in it.
I never even considered it as to me my married name is my name now for all intents and purposes, and I haven't used my maiden name since I got married.
Opinions on this?

Mozfan1 Thu 13-Oct-16 10:44:00

Your maiden name isn't your name anymore if you have changed it so there's no reason to finish your degree with that name.

6demandingchildren Fri 14-Oct-16 07:43:59

Does it matter what name you used. You are awesome so just carry on

Ilovewillow Fri 14-Oct-16 07:48:20

Your degree and the work you put into it will be "yours" whatever name you use. You have chosen to take your husband's surname so it is now your name! What's important a is that you doing the degree - awesome!

HereIAm20 Fri 14-Oct-16 16:29:24

Its your name now. My LPC certificate is in my exH name because I reverted to maiden name and then remarried. Sometimes I wish it was just in my maiden name but at the time I finished the LPC it was my name (and I did not expect to get divorced). It is what it is and it will always be yours whatever name it is in.

melibu84 Fri 14-Oct-16 16:31:38

I think your friend is being silly.

Sorry, that's the extent of my opinion :D

juneau Fri 14-Oct-16 16:33:57