Talk

Advanced search

Include unrelated qualification on job application?

(9 Posts)
PregnantAndEngaged Sat 08-Oct-16 16:50:27

Bit of background: I studied A levels Sociology, Psychology and Health & Social Care. I applied for nursing at university but backed out as did not feel mature enough to deal with some of the things I would see and wasn't sure I'd cope with blood etc. In the end I decided to do law as I always had an interest in it and felt I'd be better suited to that type of job. Anyway I completed my law degree and I even went on and did the Legal Practice Course (completed in early 2015, although I fell pregnant during the course so haven't gone on to do any law work), did very well indeed on both. However I've since had a baby and I feel I've changed as a person and matured and now really regret not pursuing going into a caring profession. I work in a bank dealing with vulnerable customers at the moment and I'm considering applying for a job as an emergency call handler. I think I'd be suited to it and feel I could handle the pressure of it as well as the emotional impact some of those calls may have.

I want to do a job that I feel is going to help people and make a real difference to their lives rather than dealing with intangible or impersonal things such as money or property. However I worry how it may look if I include my law qualifications on the application.

On the other hand, it could be a good thing to show I can work under pressure and I could discuss on my application that I have grown as a person and my personal ambitions have changed (not sure if that's a good idea or not).

starfishmummy Sat 08-Oct-16 16:53:58

You should include it or there will be a gap which will either rule you out at the first sift or that you will need to explain.

PregnantAndEngaged Sat 08-Oct-16 16:58:38