Neighbours' child screams all the time

(23 Posts)
KatzAttack Sun 26-Jun-16 22:07:45

Hi I'm new to this.

First of all, I'm not a parent, so I don't know if this behaviour is normal.

My neighbours' ~18 month old child screams for about 5-10 minutes every hour. It's not crying or grizzling, it's screaming blue murder. She'll scream her lungs out then wait 3 seconds and then scream again.

She was screaming at 8pm, then 9pm tonight. Her and her brother were screaming this afternoon as well - it happens all through the day.

A couple of days ago she started screaming at 1am - it seemed to go on for hours. I was so stressed by the end of it I couldn't go back to sleep. My performance at work is starting to suffer.

My Nan used to live with me and she could never sleep either due to this child screaming. She said the little boy used to be the same. "That little boy is such a misery", she used to say.

I've had to move into the box room with a single bed because that's the only room that doesn't border their house. My other next door have 2 boys, but the worst I hear from them is a 6am "Mummy, it's time to get up now!", which I think is rather sweet!

I'd like to take on a lodger, but I just can't until the screaming stops - I'm hoping she'll grow out of it and that they won't have another child. It's costing me a potential £400 pcm.

I've considered sound proofing, but my rooms are too small. Plus I have thousands of pounds of work to do on the house just to make it warm.

And because I'm not a parent I can't go round to their house and say "Your child screams a lot, is everything ok? Yes, children can be difficult... blah, blah, sympathy blah". I'll just be told "You're not a mother, you wouldn't understand!".