Talk

Advanced search

Poorly sound insulated flat in sought after location vs peace in not so sought after location

(9 Posts)
Luv2chat2U Sun 12-Jun-16 12:49:50

Hi all, I've previously posted something similar on the property thread, and hoping for new advice.

I live in a beautiful conversion property in a very sought after location, which is very safe for my children. However, the soundproofing is absolutely dreadful meaning I am exposed to daily noise nuisance from the tenants above and to the side which is very intrusive. The noise which is daily living sounds comprises of heavy footsteps, toddlers, big children and a dog which runs back and forth as the tenants rarely take it out for walks. I have been complaining to my local Authority for several years and have finally been given an urgent management transfer as they are not prepared to install sound insulation.

So far the properties have been in areas not so nice, but not terrible and ground floor conversion properties meaning I'm likely to occur the same issues.

I'm really gutted as I love my area and beautiful huge flat with old features but also grateful that I've been given the opportunity to move as the noise has really impacted on my health.

What do you think I should do? Would you move to a less desirable area for the sake of peace or stay in a sought after area and put up with daily noise abuse? And look for a home swap instead?

I've tried approaching the tenants but their not having any of it and have explained that there 12-year-old is developing and doing acrobats....unfortunately I feel that the only thing that separates us is newspaper for soundproofing, as every time they move so does my furniture and windows from the vibration, I feel as though I'm constantly on stimulator ride that I haven't agreed to participate in.

Please help. 😕

ZerenaZZ Tue 21-Jun-16 22:04:46