Talk

Advanced search

Unpleasant messages - Wwyd (work related)

(21 Posts)
Busyworkingmum71 Sat 31-Oct-15 08:16:24

I am a manager and an employee recently left the business. I took her laptop and phone back to get some files and contacts off before handing back to IT. She has left loads of SMS messages on there with other colleagues just slagging me off. I get it that everyone loves a bit of boss bashing, and am trying to not take it personally. But I'm only human and am hurt by it.

I also found an email (saved from 2013) from a customer to an ex colleague that implies they have been talking about me, and neither like me. It also mentions another customer who doesn't like me. Both customers I thought I had a good strong relationship with, that they valued. And both are significant customers. sad I don't want to be ~that~ person.

I make a conscious effort at work to be nice, try to be supportive to my team and valuable to customers. We have been massively overworked and under resourced for the last two years, but the email was before that all started so I can't blame it on that. I feel like this is the tip of the iceberg, and that everyone loathes me.

If I need to change something I need to know about it, right? Do I show this all to my boss and ask for support (which I probably won't get and risk losing his confidence in me) or just bury them and ignore them? I honestly don't know what to do.

ThenLaterWhenItGotDark Sat 31-Oct-15 08:25:24

It's difficult.

But you know that they say snoopers never find anything good about themselves....and also that as a manager, you don't expect to be friends with the people on your team. I think (and I am a manager too) that if it were one person, I'd leave it. You've said a few current colleagues and clients are doing it, so tbh, something's not right is it?

I think, on reflection, I would go and have a talk with my boss. Calmly.