Talk

Advanced search

What sort of volunteer work would you/have you got involved with?

(122 Posts)
pickingstrawberries Wed 22-Jul-15 13:00:06

I'm really interested in involving myself in something that I hope would benefit my community, and the people in it, and I suppose I'm just asking for some ideas and suggestions for what others do or what inspires others?

Thank you smile

Lizaa Wed 22-Jul-15 13:03:36

Brownies and Guides at the moment. Would like to do something around providing respite care in the future.

fourcorneredcircle Wed 22-Jul-15 13:06:34

I am an instructor with a youth group - for two evening a week and at least one weekend a month I work with 12-20 years olds. Personally I run adventure training (through them I have become a qualified walk leader, kayak instructor and climbing instructor), Duke of Edinburgh, First Aid Training and the organisation of weekend and week long camps away. I am a true volunteer but I have the option as others do in the organisation (The Air Cadets) to be paid for up to 28 days a year by taking on a greater range of 'military' options (I could still be paid for Adventure Traning though).

TTWK Wed 22-Jul-15 13:11:39

Voluntary work....I wouldn't do it if you paid me!

Wishful80sMontage Wed 22-Jul-15 13:14:37

Mine have been specially to gain experience in the past I worked with young offenders, I'm about to start training to become a breastfeeding support worker and next year volunteer at a local sexual health charity.
I know someone who volunteers at the brownies and loves it

MamaLazarou Wed 22-Jul-15 13:16:11

I'm waiting to start a course with Home Start.

badRoly Wed 22-Jul-15 13:17:34

I run a Brownie unit and mostly enjoy it grin

In the past I've helped at toddler groups (doing the crafts/accounts/setting up) and I used to do a morning in school every week doing whatever I was asked to do.