Talk

Advanced search

Would this be ok - work related?

(8 Posts)
ILikeToClean Fri 05-Jun-15 10:27:11

I have an interview for a job in the City working from 4pm to 9pm every evening. Would mean leaving home at 2.30.

DD1 goes to a GS 10 miles away and gets public transport, gets home at 5. DD2 joining her in September. Would they be ok from 5 until 6.30-7 when DH gets in (also works in the City).

Have a lovely neighbour who I would give a spare key to and let her know they are on their own (albeit with a big dog who is soppy but would bark loudly and deter anyone) and also friends close by. PILs are 15 minute drive away and probably could help out (they currently do after school twice a week) but would not commit to every night.

What about in school holidays, where they would be left from 2.30 every day? They are both sensible, know what to do and not do when I do leave them (not that far away though) and most of the time they come in from school, go upstairs, do homework and watch tv and I don’t see them anyway.

Is this doable? They will be 13 and 11 in September. Any other issues you can think of? TIA.

ImperialBlether Fri 05-Jun-15 10:29:43

I think it's absolutely fine. Don't worry! My son used to come home from school an hour or so before his sister and me and used to love it. He'd have a snack, watch TV and make a start on dinner, too, if I gave him a tip!

InMySpareTime Fri 05-Jun-15 10:31:22

At 13 and 11 they'll be fine! I leave mine (same ages) to go on long walks with DH, or to go out for the evening if neighbours know they are on standby for emergencies (DCs never had an emergency though).
Have you got a plan for dinners, or will DH cook when he gets in?

ILikeToClean Fri 05-Jun-15 12:07:41

Thank you both! Obviously I haven’t even got the job yet but like to forward plan!

With dinners, I will probably do some prep during the day to leave for DH to finish off or put in the oven, depending on what it is, we eat around 7 anyway so they are used to late dinners and they can have snacks when they get in.

I do leave them but am normally in the area walking the dog or taking one or other of them somewhere, I think it’s the fact that both DH and I will be in London (25 miles away) that worries me.

I suppose in this age of us all having mobiles etc I shouldn't worry!

Fingers crossed for interview now!

addicted2cake Sat 13-Jun-15 08:54:05

Good luck with your interview. I was left at this age with my 11yr old brother. Parents both worked and actually my mum worked similar hours to you and dad got home around 6.30. I would start dinner if it was something easy, never had any emergencies and really liked the responsibility! This was before the days of mobile phones too!

ILikeToClean Sun 14-Jun-15 19:44:42

Thank you! Had the interview, went well just waiting to see if I get a second interview next week. Really good company and amazing salary for 25 hours so really keeping everything crossed! smile

SocialMediaAddict Fri 10-Jul-15 12:07:13

How did it go? Did you get the job?

ILikeToClean Fri 10-Jul-15 21:31:13

Second interview is on Monday so I'm still waiting! grin

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now