Talk

Advanced search

Not what would you do what will you do about nursing care in hospital?

(9 Posts)
tirednurse Tue 27-Sep-11 13:00:33

I've changed my nickname to hide my identity I post on other areas. I am a nurse with nearly 30 years experience. Everybody needs to be aware that the standard of nursing that your family will receive if they are admitted to hospital is is at best sub standard and at worst life threatening. If something is not done soon then the situation will only get worse. Nurses have never been angels but now they are in many cases actually putting patient lives at risk. YOU the general public need to speak out because it could be your mother/father/son in hospital receiving this so called care,

ripstheirthroatoutliveupstairs Tue 27-Sep-11 15:40:44

That is one of the reasons I left nursing. The last time I worked in a hospital was about 15 years ago, I then did two in a hospice and left to live overseas.
I am not in any rush to do a year long return to nursing course.

An0therName Wed 28-Sep-11 14:05:11

if there are things you know about please can you report them - I am presuming there are whistleblower policies etc
sorry but relatives are not usually in a position to know when things are dangerous or not -
and also not normally in a mental position to argue the case

ripstheirthroatoutliveupstairs Wed 28-Sep-11 14:43:39

Not really, I haven't worked on either a general surgical or medical ward for about 14 years.

An0therName Wed 28-Sep-11 14:53:32

aimed at OP

DizzyKipper Fri 07-Oct-11 15:55:19