Talk

Advanced search

What to read after the Twilight Saga?

(14 Posts)
MaDuggar Tue 11-Aug-09 14:16:18

Have just managed to read all 4 books in the last couple of weeks (quite a mission during the school holidays with 3 kids).

Thing is, what do I read now?

cocolepew Tue 11-Aug-09 14:17:08

A book for grown ups.

<<runs away>>

MaDuggar Tue 11-Aug-09 14:24:11

lol any suggestions though?

BexieID Tue 11-Aug-09 14:29:32

Black Magicians Trilogy?
His Dark Materials trilogy?

MaDuggar Tue 11-Aug-09 14:31:26

oh who are they by?

BexieID Tue 11-Aug-09 14:35:22

Trudi Canavan and Phillip Pullman. Tales of the Otori by Lian Hearn are good too.

Skedaddle Tue 11-Aug-09 14:40:52

I've started reading a series by Kelley Armstrong. The first one is called Bitten and is about werewolves blush. Think I have truly regressed to my teenage years!

TwoIfBySea Tue 11-Aug-09 15:27:12

What about Let The Right One In, the Swedish vampire tale - warning, it is very dark but also a very good story.

Or there are the Sookie Stackhouse books that have been recommended by some on here, I've not read them yet but will do at some point!

teamcullen Tue 11-Aug-09 15:34:27

Ooo His Dark Materials is really good. The first booK is called Northern Lights

thehairybabysmum Tue 11-Aug-09 15:54:04

Ive not read twilight and i dont normally read fantasy books (i assume they're fantasy from what ive seen on MN) but htese two series are brilliant:

The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever by Stephen R Donaldson.

and the GAP series by the same author...these are the best most gripping books ive ever read. At teh time i read them he was writing them so i had to wait months for the next installment and then buy it hardback as i couldnt wait for the paperback.

link to author's website

WoTmania Wed 12-Aug-09 07:14:19

The Trudi Canavan books are good as are Pullman. Have you read and Robin Hobb?
I'm just on Eclipse (we got them at the weekend blush) but I'm really enjoying them.

DeathbyDora Wed 12-Aug-09 07:29:21

I was about to suggest Bitten as well! I just passed it to my mum who also just finished the Twilight series!

Nothing like escaping from reality with a few hunky werewolves and bar of galaxy....grin

maryz Wed 12-Aug-09 22:54:33

dd got a trilogy which I read during my holiday about underworlders, spirits, werewolves, vampires etc. I quite enjoyed it! Can't remember author, but they were City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass

bea Thu 13-Aug-09 11:14:47

Midnight Sun - the twilight book from edwards point of view... can only read online though... all explained here

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now