Talk

Advanced search

Can't choose what to read next: The Book Thief or Revolutionary Road

(29 Posts)
notnowbernard Sat 27-Jun-09 22:03:12

I will go with the majority vote!

MollieO Sat 27-Jun-09 22:04:17

Haven't read RR but I thought the BT was amazing. It is one of those stories that will stay with me forever.

bigstripeytiger Sat 27-Jun-09 22:05:21

The Book Thief is incredible.

oopsacoconut Sat 27-Jun-09 22:05:51

I would go with the Book Thief - one of the best book I have ever read.

NoFurtherQuestions Sat 27-Jun-09 22:07:28

Message withdrawn

piscesmoon Sat 27-Jun-09 22:09:32

I really enjoyed 'The Book Thief'.

LongDroopyBoobyLady Sat 27-Jun-09 22:11:40

Book Thief is a must read.

cthea Sat 27-Jun-09 22:16:44

I loved RR.

notnowbernard Sat 27-Jun-09 22:18:04

I have both on my bookshelf waiting ...

It's looking like BT

bigstripeytiger Sat 27-Jun-09 22:22:52

The book thief will probably make you cry a lot, so dont read it in a public place. Everyone who I have spoken to about the book has cried, and not pretty quiet crying, but loud racking sobs. Just a warning smile

surreylady Sat 27-Jun-09 22:33:45

I have read both - I didn't like the Book Thief - found (sorry all) Enjoyed RR though so that would be my vote

ClaudiaSchiffer Sat 27-Jun-09 23:25:42

Revolutionary Road is great, really powerful writing and pretty horrowing in parts. We did it for Book Group a while ago and had v interesting discussions re motherhood and domestic life.

We read The Book Thief last month (well I didn't for some reason) and everyone loved it. It was a number of peoples top 5 of ALL TIME books. So I must read it.

Penthesileia Sat 27-Jun-09 23:29:26

Do not waste time on The Book Thief. Overwritten tripe, IMVHO. There are MUCH better books written about Germany during WWII, or about the Holocaust, if you want to read a book about those matters: Primo Levi, If this is a man; Gunter Grass, The Tin Drum. Etc.

Revolutionary Road, on the other hand, is excellent.

margotfonteyn Sun 28-Jun-09 12:12:30

Also found The Book Thief to be tripe, both overwritten and badly written. A typical 'International Bestseller'. Glad someone else agrees with me.

Would like to read Revolutionary Road though.

surreylady Sun 28-Jun-09 22:38:31

margotfonteyn - I am glad not to be alone also - would be interested once you have read RR to hear your feedback.

janeite Sun 28-Jun-09 22:40:34

I liked The Book Thief a lot and so did my dp (and we rarely agree on books) AND so did dd1 and the Yr 11 pupils I recommended it to.

Haven't read RR - would anybody like to give me a brief intro to it?

Cousel Sun 28-Jun-09 22:58:15

I thought the book thief was a good easy quick read - the narrator was 11yrs so style is simplistic.

Not read RR.

notnowbernard Tue 30-Jun-09 13:56:44

Have started RR (so didn't go with majority!)

So far, very good

mumof2222222222222222boys Tue 30-Jun-09 13:58:32

Read both. Enjoyed RR far more (although it is a bit sad!)

mumof2222222222222222boys Tue 30-Jun-09 13:58:38

Read both. Enjoyed RR far more (although it is a bit sad!)

mumof2222222222222222boys Tue 30-Jun-09 13:58:40

Read both. Enjoyed RR far more (although it is a bit sad!)

cheapskatemum Thu 02-Jul-09 22:22:33

Didn't like BT, in fact didn't even bother reading to end of it. I thought Boy in Striped Pyjamas better child's eye view of that period.

juuule Fri 03-Jul-09 16:16:44

Thoroughly enjoyed The Book Thief.
So did dh and dd1 (18). Found it very moving and unusual being told by a different portrayal of Death personified (he is mostly detached but not always).

SkaterGrrrrl Wed 08-Jul-09 16:56:13

Have only read Revolutionary Road and it's superb... you wont be disappointed.

CountessDracula Wed 08-Jul-09 16:58:02

RR is brilliant

Not read the other

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now