Talk

Advanced search

Need recommendations for what to read next please?

(25 Posts)
nkf Sat 30-May-09 17:19:33

I am hunting for good reading material. I recently posted a long message about being distressed by a book and everyone was really sympathetic.

As an antidote, I tried a lot of light fiction. The thing is light fiction is often not very well written and I can't stand much more of it. So what I need is interseting, well written but not horrific in any way.

Any ideas?

JeffVadar Sat 30-May-09 17:34:54

Victoria Hislop springs to mind, her stuff is light, but quite nicely written. The Island is set in Greece. Her new one is about the Spanish civil war so may contain a certain amount of harrowing

The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield is a gripping yarn. In similar vein Shadow of the Wind by carlos something Ruiz

Mind gone blank now...

Grattage Sat 30-May-09 17:38:45

easy to read but not light is" the finest kind of english womanhood" in hardback atm but WELL worth it

adn middlesex that was reccy on here - I RACEd through ti

Grattage Sat 30-May-09 17:39:47

here

nkf Sat 30-May-09 17:58:40

I have got The Finest Kind of English Womanhood lying about somewhere. Great. Will give it a go. Thank you. Have read The Thirteenth Tale. Tried Middlesex.

More suggestsions please.

Grattage Sat 30-May-09 17:59:26

LYING ABOUT?

omg its the best one i read all eyar.
stick with Msex, it gets better.
the 16th wife - that is good

Grattage Sat 30-May-09 18:00:13

arf the 19th

nkf Sat 30-May-09 18:00:44

Have tried MIdedlesex more tahn once. The one by Eugenides. Couldn't get on with it at all. Will google 16th wife.

Grattage Sat 30-May-09 18:00:51

and this - ignore the cover

Grattage Sat 30-May-09 18:01:36

case histories

nkf Sat 30-May-09 18:02:39

Oooh, that Dragon Tattoo book does look good. And I happen to know that Sainsbury's are selling it half price. Good one.

Tambajam Sat 30-May-09 18:03:58

Coming out of left field...
Maybe the Moon by Armistead Maupin

Grattage Sat 30-May-09 18:04:40

omg its so so so good
even dh deigned to read it, then we bought the 2nd one in hardback.
oyu might find it handy to draw a family tree of the industiralists family as you go on.

nkf Sat 30-May-09 18:06:11

I think I've read most of Maupin. I was nuts about him at one time. Any other left fielders. Something I missed 10 years ago.

Grattage Sat 30-May-09 18:06:50

i read dale wintons biog..

grin

nkf Sat 30-May-09 18:07:13

English Womanhood I have.
Dragon Tattoo easy to get hold of.
Need some more.
One problem is that I read very very fast.

Grattage Sat 30-May-09 18:07:16

oh there is a tiny rape scene in it.
but it didnt bother me.

Grattage Sat 30-May-09 18:07:31

( not in dw in dragon bk)

clemette Sat 30-May-09 22:15:53

I have just read Buddha Da by Anne Donovan. Light and very well written. Highly recommended.

nkf Sun 31-May-09 15:13:41

Have just had a trip to local charity shop and found Salmon Fishing in the Yemen and White City Blue by Tim Lott. Good choices would you say?

JeffVadar Sun 31-May-09 17:13:27

I loved Salmon Fishing..

A good meaty read is Northern Clemency by Philip Hensher.

Are you signed up with your local library? It's really good for tiding you over if you are a fast reader...

nkf Mon 01-Jun-09 22:49:05

Thank you, JeffVadar. I do have a library card but the choice is usually a bit poor there to be honest. I'm a great haunter of charity bookshops and am always asking friends (and MN) for recommendations and loans.

Trizelda Mon 01-Jun-09 23:12:29

Have read these recently

I, Coriander by Sally Gardner,

Journey to the River Sea and Star of Kazan by Eva Ibbotson.

I Know that these are officially children's books but definately worth a look.

Trizelda Mon 01-Jun-09 23:13:26

Me again.....my local library will find almost any book and have it delivered to them for collection.

Overmydeadbody Mon 01-Jun-09 23:17:32

Read Doris Lessing's Mara and Dann

Or any of her other books for that matter. Brilliant.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now