Talk

Advanced search

Getting a Teenage Girl to Read!!!!

(23 Posts)
MabelStark Wed 24-Sep-08 15:33:01

Hi all, have been reading these pages for a while but this is my first time, I think of myself as a real bookworm but a friend of mine had me a bit stumped today!
My friend has a daughter of 13, who is doing ok at school but is just not interested at all in reading or in her English classes at school. Her daughter likes Maths, Science, Geography and attends Drama classes.
My friend thinks that if she could get her into books, her interest in English might ignite and it would improve her spelling and vocab. Ideally she would like a book that they could read together... I ony had a couple of suggestions, Anne of Green Gables and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. Can anyone suggest a book a little more contempary, I am out of touch with Teenage/Crossover Fiction. Many thanks

noonki Wed 24-Sep-08 15:39:26

My DSS loves Twilight series - recommended by his friend who is a girl

mumblechum Wed 24-Sep-08 15:42:24

"Elsewhere". Sorry can't remember the author. Got it out of the library recently & it's contemporary and a little offbeat.

witchandchips Wed 24-Sep-08 15:44:17

Anne of Green Gables a bit too young. Think she'd probably go for some science fiction of the john wyndham (day of the triffids, chocky, chrysalids) type

DorrisMcWhirter Wed 24-Sep-08 15:44:55

What about the Northern Light's trilogy?
I second the Twilight series too, they are fantastic (although may depend on how mature she is as probably aimed more at 15/ 16 year olds - however, I enjoyed them too and am 33!)

StormInanEcup Wed 24-Sep-08 15:46:01

Message withdrawn

witchandchips Wed 24-Sep-08 15:47:17

malorie blackman (noughts and crosses) is also good

also Isabelle Allende has done a few books for teenages (i actually find these easier to take that her adult books tbh)

noonki Wed 24-Sep-08 15:48:19

I 3rd Malorie Blackman