Talk

Advanced search

Books similar to Sophie Kinsella/Shopaholic series?

(37 Posts)
Falafellygood Sun 12-Apr-20 15:15:19

I want to order some books for my mum to read as shes bored during isolation. She tends to read light hearted, easy 'chick-lit' stuff. She's gone through all of Sophie Kinsella. Any recommendations of similar books/authors? Thank you smile

OP’s posts: |
JiltedJohnsJulie Sun 12-Apr-20 19:00:30

I’ve just started a similar thread about my DM. Has she read Eleanor Oliphant? My DM liked it but I would read some reviews first maybe smile

Has she tried Veronica Henry too? I quite like her books. Have a look at Love on the Rocks smile

stickman12 Sun 12-Apr-20 19:05:52

Dorothy Koomson books

Imonlymoominafterall Sun 12-Apr-20 19:14:59

Marian Keyes - any of her books are funny and well written plus great stories. Chick Lit plus.

feelingchange Sun 12-Apr-20 19:17:44

Lindsay kelk books are really good especially the I heart series

JiltedJohnsJulie Sun 12-Apr-20 19:23:00

stickman I’ve only read the Icecream Girls. I did enjoy it but when I went to look at more books by her she was described as the “Master of the Great Reveal”. I find this really find the end a great reveal in that book, I’d seen it coming a long way off.

Are her other books worth reading?

peachypetite Sun 12-Apr-20 19:23:49

Marian Keyes

Ciwirocks Sun 12-Apr-20 19:24:03

My dm likes similar books and also likes Marian Keyes and Cecilia Ahern.

LouLouLoo Sun 12-Apr-20 19:25:00

She’d probably enjoy reading books by Jane Green.

Hunkyd0ry Sun 12-Apr-20 19:25:08

Jane Mansell are very easy reading.

Lightofthephoenix Sun 12-Apr-20 19:25:32

Fiona Gibson

Carole Matthews

Ciwirocks Sun 12-Apr-20 19:25:38

Oh Maeve Binchy as well

catinb0oots Sun 12-Apr-20 19:25:45

I came on to say Marion Keyes

catinb0oots Sun 12-Apr-20 19:26:11

Sorry Marian.

Light reading but funny

CheerfulBunny Sun 12-Apr-20 19:28:53

Fiona Walker's books are great, funny and light hearted. Some are part of a series based around a fictional village but some stand alone.

bookmum08 Sun 12-Apr-20 19:30:20

Has she read Madeline Wickham's books - that is actually Sophie Kinsella too. Madeline Wickham is her real name!!

AmelieTaylor Sun 12-Apr-20 19:31:21

Alexandra Brown is very similar.

Eleanor Oliohant is 'odd' and not an easy read chic lit like the ones you said.

Papergirl1968 Sun 12-Apr-20 19:51:21

Jilted, The Ice Cream Girls isn’t the best Koomson, in fact i think it’s the weakest. Her newer stuff is better.
Hunky means Jill Mansell, I think.
Jenny Colgan or Erica James might be worth a go.
Jilly Cooper if she hasn’t read them and doesn’t mind the sex - Riders, Rivals and Polo are the best.

Onebabyandamadcat Sun 12-Apr-20 20:04:34

Nick Spalding "love from both sides" had me laughing out loud

stickman12 Sun 12-Apr-20 22:12:36

@JiltedJohnsJulie I don't like ice cream girls, i would try marsh mellows for breakfast or my best friends girl to start with

BikeRunSki Sun 12-Apr-20 22:40:56

Eleanor Oliphant doesn’t compare to the Shopaholic books at all. The Shopaholics are silly and lighthearted. Eleanor is about a young women fighting mental demons.

purplepingu Sun 12-Apr-20 22:45:22

Paige Toon

TokyoSushi Sun 12-Apr-20 22:50:06

Another vote for Marian Keyes

endoflevelbaddy Sun 12-Apr-20 22:53:26

I like the Jane Fallon ones, done a few as audio books recently and they were really easy listening.

WellTidy Sun 12-Apr-20 22:58:25

Marian Keyes is a master of this genre. Chick lit +++++. Absolutely brilliantly done.

Jane Green.

Join the discussion

To comment on this thread you need to create a Mumsnet account.

Join Mumsnet

Already have a Mumsnet account? Log in