Talk

Advanced search

Books similar to Bridget Jones?

(11 Posts)
WaterBird Wed 28-Nov-18 16:23:46

I really ennoyed all 4 Bridget Jones books quite a lot. I also read another more recent, related book, called Hot Mess: Bridget Jones of a New Generation by Lucy Vine.
Are there any other books you enjoyed that are related, especially if they are also written in diary format?
Thanks.

OP’s posts: |
furrysheep Wed 28-Nov-18 16:34:04

I thought 'the wrong knickers' was good by Bryony Gordon

BevBrook Wed 28-Nov-18 16:35:36

It was written in a different period but I think Diary of a Provincial Lady has similarities with Bridget Jones. The self deprecating humour, anyway.

WaterBird Wed 28-Nov-18 19:36:18

Thanks. Will take a look at these.

OP’s posts: |
tripfiction Wed 05-Dec-18 13:18:20

It's all in the title!!! www.tripfiction.com/novel-set-in-ww2-london-a-former-bridget-jones-perhaps/ Dear Mrs Bird is WW2 equivalent (I think, anyway...)

rightreckoner Sun 09-Dec-18 19:14:16

I was going to say Diary of a Provincial Lady - for after Bridget Jones gets her man, has two children and finds Mr Darcy has retreated behind his newspaper and she’s left trying and failing to impress the neighbours and manage the kids (with only a cook and a maid to ease her burden grin)

ritzbiscuits Sun 09-Dec-18 23:01:53

A bit different but The Sober Diaries by Claire Pooley

iLevictoiChete Sun 09-Dec-18 23:09:30

Rachel's Holiday by Marian Keyes

concretesieve Sun 09-Dec-18 23:26:38

Letters rather than a diary, but try Nina Stibbe's Love Nina. Another vote for the Provincial Lady. Letters again and also older, but Joyce Dennys' Henrietta's War might also appeal. More letters but Jill Tweedie's Letters from a Faint-Hearted Feminist is also well worth a try.

JaneJeffer Mon 10-Dec-18 00:00:08

Hens Dancing and sequel Summertime by Raffaella Barker both in diary format.

WaterBird Mon 10-Dec-18 05:38:52

I'll look into these. Thanks for reviving this thread!
@rightreckoner
Yes, she does get her man! I don't know about you, but that was the most rushed romance ever. I couldn't really find anything particularly likeable about Scott Wallaker.

OP’s posts: |

Join the discussion

To comment on this thread you need to create a Mumsnet account.

Join Mumsnet

Already have a Mumsnet account? Log in