Talk

Advanced search

Books like Black Mirror the TV show

(31 Posts)
Jaimx86 Mon 22-Jan-18 20:26:06

I've really been enjoying watching Black Mirror on Netflix and would like to read some books on a similar theme. Can anyone recommene any?

cariadlet Tue 23-Jan-18 18:50:47

I suppose it depends which episodes you enjoy - I think they're quite varied. Have you read any Philip K Dick? I like his short stories. A lot of them play with ideas of reality, consciousness etc. Channel 4's Electric Dreams series was based on some of them.

Jaimx86 Tue 23-Jan-18 19:08:24

Yes - I've read lots of Philip K Dick, and I love J. G. Ballard too. Do you know of anyone else?

Synecdoche Tue 23-Jan-18 19:15:38

1984!

Synecdoche Tue 23-Jan-18 19:17:38

Also The Unconsoled by Kazuo Ishiguro and Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell. The Divergent (YA) trilogy is very good too.

Spangles7 Tue 23-Jan-18 19:18:00

Chocky by John wyndham, the Circle by ? Dave Eggers?

PatriciaHolm Tue 23-Jan-18 19:21:37

Short stories by Michael Marshall Smith - "More Tomorrow"

PatriciaHolm Tue 23-Jan-18 19:22:45

Also short stories by Neil Gaiman

domesticslattern Tue 23-Jan-18 19:23:00

Yes, The Circle is a v interesting book.

JustGettingStarted Tue 23-Jan-18 19:28:21

Look for collections of award-winning science fiction short stories.

Jaimx86 Tue 23-Jan-18 19:31:03

I have read, and really enjoyed, 1984 and The Circle. Although the film of The Circle didn't reach my expectations.
I will look up the other recommendations on my Kindle. Thanks smile

Sadik Tue 23-Jan-18 21:10:48

The Fractured Europe sequence by Dave Hutchinson - the first one is Europe in Autumn

musicmaiden Wed 24-Jan-18 09:31:18

Definitely Neil Gaiman - try Smoke and Mirrors or Fragile Things, or if you want a big book, American Gods.

BlackAmericanoNoSugar Wed 24-Jan-18 09:43:58

Margaret Atwood is also good for dark, dystopian stories.

lucysnowe Mon 29-Jan-18 17:22:06

Joyce Carol Oates short stories for sure.

The Stone Man by Luke Smitherd is v. long but definitely has a Black Mirror vibe IME as well as being v. Wyndhamy. I loved it.

Alfred Bester's short stories as well as John Wyndham ditto - actually if you think about it Black Mirror is just an extension of a lot of scifi short stories from the 50s and 60s that quite often had a bleak ironic kind of twist.

ScribblyGum Mon 29-Jan-18 18:36:43

Remainder by Tom McCarthy seriously messed with my head.

OlBitey Mon 29-Jan-18 18:41:53

OP this will be out in a month!! Exactly what you're looking for

www.amazon.co.uk/Black-Mirror-Literary-Season/dp/0399180001/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&keywords=Black+mirror&tag=mumsnetforum-21&ie=UTF8&qid=1517251238&sr=1-1

Jaimx86 Tue 30-Jan-18 16:09:09

Yes! That's amazing! I keep telling my DH I'd prefer to read than watch a lot of these so that's perfect grin

Will also look up the new suggestions added yesterday - thanks smile

cdtaylornats Tue 30-Jan-18 21:28:40

Tea With the Black Dragon by R.A. MacAvoy
The Club of Queer Trades by G.K. Chesterton

hatters Tue 06-Feb-18 23:56:05

The Fear Index by Robert Harris

CAAKE Wed 07-Feb-18 07:44:32

High Rise by JG Ballard.

BabloHoney Wed 07-Feb-18 07:55:48

J Pod by Douglas Coupland

Jaimx86 Wed 07-Feb-18 17:48:56

Thanks for the additional suggestions. J Pod is one of my favourite books. I own copies of all Coupland's books and I'm forever checking whether he's released a new one.

PavlovaPrincess Wed 07-Feb-18 17:57:43

The Stone Man by Luke Smitherd is v. long but definitely has a Black Mirror vibe IME as well as being v. Wyndhamy. I loved it.

That is one the most disappointing books I've read in a long, long time. Great setup/premise but seriously crap ending.

Having said that, I read a book of his short stories first (think it was called Weird, Dark) and that was most definitely Black Mirror-ish and slightly more satisfying than The Stone Man.

ClareB83 Wed 07-Feb-18 18:43:15

The Sci Fi Masterworks series and the Fantasy Masterworks series can be a good route to new authors.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now