Talk

Advanced search

Books like Harry Potter

(13 Posts)
airtrafficjam Mon 28-Aug-17 14:50:09

Just reread the Harry Potter series for the first time in years and I forgot how much I really enjoy them.
Big fan of the series since the beginning when I was a tween and grew up with them. (I even queued at midnight for new releases and all)
I find the books a real comfort and give me that lovely nostalgia feel when reading them.

So Having finished this series again I'm after some recommendations for a new series to read. A series that's as easy to read and get into like the Harry Potter series.
Thanks

OP’s posts: |
BingumyThob Tue 29-Aug-17 12:19:06

Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials trilogy
William Nicholson's Wind on Fire trilogy
Garth Nix's Old Kingdom trilogy
Susan Cooper's The Dark is Rising sequence

These are all the fantasy series from my tweenagehood that have stuck in my mind. Especially His Dark Materials.

airtrafficjam Wed 30-Aug-17 07:55:20

Thanks
I've read the Philip Pullman series and really enjoyed them. The film wasn't great though.
Quite looking forward to his new book that's out soon.
I may have to give one of your other suggestions a go smile

OP’s posts: |
fatowl Wed 30-Aug-17 15:23:09

What about the Belgariad books by David Eddings (five of them starting with Pawn Of Prophecy)
, I loved them when i was a teen - was having to wait for the next one to come out. Also about an oprhaned boy who discovers who he is, with the help of a Dumbledore-type character, lots of witchcraft and wizardry.
More pure fantasy than HP.
Not looked at them for years though, not sure if I want to reread in case I am very disappointed!

airtrafficjam Wed 30-Aug-17 16:47:47

Thanks and do it, reread them.
You might find you enjoy them more, and they give you that happy nostalgia feel taking you back to when you first read them smile

OP’s posts: |
Sneezeandooops Tue 05-Sep-17 22:24:03

Glad I found this thread, been looking for something to read so will be looking up those suggestions. I loved (still do) Harry Potter, twilight and hunger games. Read quite a few other teenage book series but wonder if I need to grow up a little now (29), some friends laugh at me when I tell them what I'm reading. Does anyone have a suggestion for something similar but aimed at an older audience?

JoyceDivision Tue 05-Sep-17 22:27:52

The secret benedict society books?

ChristianGreysAnatomy Tue 05-Sep-17 22:30:55

Anything by Diana wynne Jones - fantastic writer.

RTKangaMummy Tue 05-Sep-17 22:30:55

LOTR etc

Anthony Horrowitz books like Alex Rider? I have not read them so no idea how good or bad they are though

kjarvo Sat 09-Sep-17 22:50:57

The Name of the Wind

cdtaylornats Sun 10-Sep-17 09:26:04

The Bartimaeus books by Jonathon Stroud

Bartimaeus is a djinn summoned by a young wizard, the story itself is excellent but the footnotes on most pages show Bartimaeus inner voice and they are hilarious.

Cloudyapples Sun 10-Sep-17 09:30:31

The mortal instruments and the prequel series the infernal devices

GinsanityBeckons Sun 10-Sep-17 09:35:07

The Hobbes End trilogy by Hilton Pashley (Gabriel's Clock and Sammaels Wings are out already, the third is imminent)

Join the discussion

To comment on this thread you need to create a Mumsnet account.

Join Mumsnet

Already have a Mumsnet account? Log in