We rely on advertising to keep the lights on.

Please consider adding us to your whitelist.

loader

Talk

Advanced search

If you liked Mma Ramotswe...?

(13 Posts)
Crossoldwasp Sat 04-Mar-17 19:07:25

If you liked the Nr 1 Ladies Detective Series - not for the detective angle in particular - but that calming and uplifting (without being overly schmaltzy) effect that the series has, what else in that vein would you also recommend please...?

I've read several other of the Alexander McCall Smith series, and they don't seem to hit the same spot.

Going through a stressful patch, and could use some uplifting but not mindless escapism in book form...

mumonashoestring Sat 04-Mar-17 19:12:12

Give Elizabeth Peters' Amelia Peabody series a try - the first one is The Crocodile on the Sandbank. Similar kind of relatively gentle mystery/thrillers with a strong female lead who is an absolutely wonderful character.

LemonRedwood Sat 04-Mar-17 20:25:55

Second the Amelia Peabody series

Crossoldwasp Sat 04-Mar-17 20:56:32

Thank you both!

MiddlingMum Sun 05-Mar-17 11:40:07

Baking Cakes in Kigali. I seem to remember it was lighter than the Mme Ramotswe books, but good to read if you need something easy.

TheOnlyLivingBoyInNewCross Sun 05-Mar-17 11:53:28

The Agatha Raisin series is light and fun.

If you don't mind going back in time, my surefire comfort read for the whole of my adult life has been Georgette Heyer's Regency romances. I must have read The Grand Sophy more than a dozen times now.

Crossoldwasp Sun 05-Mar-17 11:55:52

Thank you! Will try these all.

chicaguapa Sun 05-Mar-17 12:04:48

The Jimm Juree books are very similar to the Ladies Detective Agency. They're set in Thailand, not Africa, but have the same simpleness and humour about them. They are crime-based though but in a gentle whodunit way like Mma Ramotswe. The first one is Killed at the Whim of a Hat

brokenshoes Thu 16-Mar-17 12:02:53

I really enjoyed the mobile library series of 'mystery' books by Ian Sansom. A Jewish librarian from north London relocates to a small village in Northern Ireland. Well-written, but easy-to-read. Reminded me of Alexander McCall Smith's writing.

www.goodreads.com/series/41306-mobile-library-mystery

tripfiction Tue 21-Mar-17 21:35:55

In our review of Vaseem Khan's delightful Inspector Chopra series, we wrote: "...for fans of the popular series, The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith, I can say that Inspector Ashwin Chopra is the Precious Ramotswe of the Indian sub-continent ...."

www.tripfiction.com/crime-mystery-set-in-mumbai/

Happy reading...

JiltedJohnsJulie Mon 27-Mar-17 19:52:35

Second the Mobile Library series smile

lbsjob87 Wed 12-Apr-17 23:56:52

Exactly the same here - I have read nearly all the No 1 Ladies books, I just finished The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon. I love the characters, the dialogue and the warmth as much as anything.

But I haven't enjoyed Isabel Dalhousie etc anywhere near as much.

I've seen most of the Agatha Raisin TV series - are the books in a similar vein, does anyone know?

Definitely some suggestions here, thanks!

CarSeeker Thu 13-Apr-17 00:04:53

Another vote for Jimm Juree - and though it's not a female lead, his other series starring Dr Siri. It's also a charming series, with lots of strong characters (his two sidekicks at the outset are a female nurse and a Down Syndrome morgue assistant) - Colin Cotteril is one of my go-to comfort reads.

I took a while to get into Agatha Raisin: I thought they'd be right up my street, but I read the first four or five and was disappointed. I put them aside for a few years, and the next time I tried, I got them. I don't love them in the same way I do Mma Ramotswe, Jimm and Dr Siri, though: they're light and fun, but read like an outsider's impression of village life, rather than someone who really knows and understands iyswim, which I think comes through strongly with the other series.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now