Talk

Advanced search

Male authors- like Tony Parsons and Nick Hornby

(29 Posts)
luckiestgirlintheworld Sun 12-Apr-15 15:12:22

Really love these two and could do with some similar recommendations please!
Adult fiction male authors- quite light and maybe family orientated.
Thanks

BigPawsBrown Sun 12-Apr-15 15:13:30

Recently I enjoyed The Two of Us by Andy Jones

highlandcoo Sun 12-Apr-15 15:54:17

The Death and Life of Charlie St Cloud by Ben Sherwood is good.

Also How to Talk to a Widower by Jonathan Tropper.

Tbh I think these guys are better than the two you mention. Have a look and see what you think

tripfiction Mon 13-Apr-15 09:31:31

US by David Nicholls... one family's Grand Tour of Europe, perceptively observed, fiction.

Moln Mon 13-Apr-15 09:36:12

Does it need to be male? There's a heap of female authors who write I with this genre.

hackmum Mon 13-Apr-15 18:15:41

In my view, Nick Hornby is simply brilliant and Tony Parsons isn't even in the same league as him.

But anyway, I'd second the David Nicholls book.

luckiestgirlintheworld Mon 13-Apr-15 19:01:56

Thanks everyone - i had a look in the library but didn't have much luck.
Yes- it's the male authors I like at the moment. I've read loads of female fiction of this genre and I enjoy the male perspective

balia Mon 13-Apr-15 19:08:10

Mil Millington? Things my Girlfriend and I have argued about, A certain chemistry - they're funny and very well observed (and I like Tony Parsons and Nick Hornby so will watch thread with interest)

VeryVeryDarkGrey Mon 13-Apr-15 19:10:46

Matt dunn?

Mandelinka Mon 13-Apr-15 21:19:56

I absolutely adore Nick and have read most of his books.
Can I perhaps mention:
Mark Haddon
Ben Elton
Stephe Clarke
Bill Bryson
Armistead Maupin
Alexander McCall Smith

Perhaps not exactly the same as NH but def worth looking at

JimmyCorkhill Mon 13-Apr-15 22:17:01

Danny Wallace - Charlotte Street

cdtaylornats Mon 13-Apr-15 22:21:21

Mil Millington and his interaction with his German girlfriend is hilarious.

Lilybensmum1 Mon 13-Apr-15 22:31:57

I too like Tony Parsons and have recently discovered (thanks to MN!) Mo Hayder her DI Jack Mccaferry series is amazing, I can't put the books down, I think there is 7 or 8 in the series, I purchased 6 from Amazon (used ones) and am loving them. H ave you read Peter James or Peter Robinson both excellent, especially the former.

luckiestgirlintheworld Tue 14-Apr-15 18:38:51

Thanks all. I've added them to my list.

lemonyone Tue 14-Apr-15 18:41:21

I adore David Sedaris. It's not really quite what you're asking for as it's short autobiographical stories, but he makes me laugh so much and he is a bloke.

tumbletumble Tue 14-Apr-15 19:21:13

How about Roddy Doyle?

ItsAllKickingOffPru Tue 14-Apr-15 19:27:54

Mike Gayle?

DianeLockhart Thu 16-Apr-15 01:44:40

Was also going to say Mike gayle

thelittlebooktroll Thu 16-Apr-15 08:07:37

Matt Haig

lemonpoppyseed Thu 16-Apr-15 09:18:06

Jonathan Tropper. Especially his earlier books. And Tom Perotta. Both Hornby-esque American writers.

MimsyBorogroves Thu 16-Apr-15 23:24:02

Brain isn't working, but The Rotter's Club author, and also take a look at May Contain Nuts...can't remember the author there either.

Can tell I've taken my migraine medication tonight hmm

MrsBanana Thu 16-Apr-15 23:26:27

Jonathan Coe, Mimsy

MimsyBorogroves Fri 17-Apr-15 10:29:59

Yes, him! And the other guy is John O'Farrell.

I am ridiculous post-tablets. blush

MargotLovedTom Fri 17-Apr-15 10:42:02

Love Jonathan Coe. Also William Sutcliffe - "Are You Experienced" is utterly hilarious, and "The Love Hexagon" had me squirming uncomfortably reading g it while in the throes of a dying relationship.

I like David Nicholls a lot as well.

MargotLovedTom Fri 17-Apr-15 10:42:48

Yes to John O'Farrell.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now