Talk

Advanced search

What to read after Lord of,the Rings?

(22 Posts)
BaconAndAvocado Mon 23-Dec-13 21:40:41

This post is for DS aged 15.

He has been GLUED to these books over past couple of weeks,so I want to keep the momentum going!

Tia

OP’s posts: |
HectorVector Mon 23-Dec-13 21:43:12

Has he read the His Dark Materials trilogy by Phillip Pullman? Not orcs and the like but still fantasy style.

catellington Mon 23-Dec-13 21:45:35

Try George McDonald

catellington Mon 23-Dec-13 21:45:58

I think or might be Macdonald

ThreeBeeOneGee Mon 23-Dec-13 21:48:30

Eragon.
A Song of Ice and Fire.
That endless series by Robert Jordan.

I'm getting déja vu.

Heartbrokenmum73 Mon 23-Dec-13 21:50:52

The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan (14 books - and it's actually complete, unlike George R R Martin's sodding Song of Ice and Fire series, which is excellent, but you'll be waiting a long time for the finale).

Anything by the wonderful Terry Brooks (who I started with on my 14th birthday and still read to this day, 26 years later), but start with The Sword of Shannara.

Robin Hobb - start with The Farseer Trilogy.

The Dragonlance Chronicles by Margaret Weiss and Tracey Hickman.

delusionsofadequacy Mon 23-Dec-13 21:52:34

The name of the wind by Pat Rothfuss is also good. I second the Robin Hobb books as well. Also has he read any terry pratchett?

ThreeBeeOneGee Mon 23-Dec-13 21:53:33

Ooh yes, I like the Farseer books too.

BaconAndAvocado Mon 23-Dec-13 22:02:29

Wow! Thanks all, will have a gander on amazon.

Terry Pratchett is an author I've heard of, is he quite funny as well as doing the fantasy bit?

OP’s posts: |
MonstersBalls Mon 23-Dec-13 22:03:54

He could try Tales of the Dying Earth by Jack Vance.

I'm on Book 14 of the Wheel of Time (Robert Jordan) and would definitely recommend.

Raymond Feist is a great fantasy author - I'd start with Magician

delusionsofadequacy Mon 23-Dec-13 22:19:39

Very funny, they are a bit adult humour wise but I think I was about fourteen when I started reading them and I 'got' the jokes. There is no swearing or rude humour though which is good. I still read them now and there is around thirty of them so plenty to get his teeth into smile

GoingGoingGoth Mon 23-Dec-13 22:28:09

Definitely recommend Robert Jordan (despite LOTR similarities)
Terry Pratchett is my favorite author
Julian May is good
Anne McCaffrey if he likes dragons
David Eddings may be a bit easy for him

Raymond E Fiest, 1st 5 - 6 books are brilliant, later ones are still good.
The Daughter of the Empire series with Jenny Wurts are also good

I have all these waiting for DD to be ready to read them grin

Jackthebodiless Mon 23-Dec-13 22:33:08

Julian May definitely.
And Pratchett.
Also Frank Herbert's Dune.

GoingGoingGoth Tue 24-Dec-13 00:07:39

Jack (cool name) I can't believe I forgot Dune (the original 6), the prequels/sequels are ok-ish.

Backonthefence Tue 24-Dec-13 00:14:55

Brandon Sanderson is pretty good (he finished off the wheel of time saga)

RemusLupinsBiggestGroupie Tue 24-Dec-13 13:12:40

Stephen King's The Dark Tower series. And probably The Game of Thrones series (but, whispers, I think they are pretty rubbish).

OneHolyCow Wed 25-Dec-13 12:39:49

The Earthsea trilogy by Ursula le Guinn.

RalphRecklessCardew Wed 25-Dec-13 13:03:16

I rather loved Game of Thrones.

CoteDAzur Wed 25-Dec-13 13:32:14

Dune books by Frank Herbert

I'm talking about the first 6 books actually written by him, not the "prequels" later written by his son.

Jackthebodiless Thu 26-Dec-13 13:07:28

I agree with Cote and Goth, only the Dunes written by Frank Herbert alone are classics, don't get the ones by his son by mistake, as the covers look very similar.

IndridCold Thu 26-Dec-13 18:44:17

Another vote for the Ursula ld Guin Earthsea books (happily there are now more than three!).

Also Mervyn Peake's Gormenghast trilogy.

bebumba Fri 27-Dec-13 16:15:56

Once And Future King TH White about the legend of king Arthur my 14yr old ds got it for Christmas and hasn't put it down yet.

Join the discussion

To comment on this thread you need to create a Mumsnet account.

Join Mumsnet

Already have a Mumsnet account? Log in