Talk

Advanced search

Books about gay theatre life in 50s/60s please

(10 Posts)
SilkStalkings Thu 03-Jan-13 10:03:49

Just been listening to Kooks by David Bowie and thinking this would be a great novel. Any suggestions?
Tia.

Takver Thu 03-Jan-13 11:41:08

Not exactly, but what about Absolute Beginners trilogy (AB, City of Spades, Mr Love & Justice) by Colin Macinnes

seeker Thu 03-Jan-13 11:42:28

I know a fantastic book about gay trapeze artists if that's any use......

RobertPatrick Sun 06-Jan-13 04:22:49

NOVEL ABOUT GAY THEATRE IN THE 1960S www.lulu.com/shop/robert-patrick/temple-slave/paperback/product-14710156.html

RobertPatrick Sun 06-Jan-13 04:24:08

NOVEL ABOUT GAY THEATRE IN THE 1960S www.lulu.com/shop/robert-patrick/temple-slave/paperback/product-14710156.html
Totally romanticized fiction recreating the atmosphere of the first days of underground or Off-Off Broadway theater in New York in the 1960s. ANNOTATED EDITION. Highly adult content. "...you must read this book. It draws such a tragic, and, in a way, noble portrait of Mr. Buono. It leads the reader, almost against his will, into a deep sympathy with this strange man who tried to comfort, to encourage and to feed both the worthy and the worthless...it is impossible not to mourn for this man--impossible not to praise this book." (Quentin Crisp)

SilkStalkings Sun 06-Jan-13 12:50:58

Oooooh! Swinging New York will do!

gatheringlilac Sun 06-Jan-13 21:35:52

Silkstalkings - that is a great question (though I can see you're happy with the offer of 60s off-broadway).

No-one seems to have written a biography of Lindsay Kemp, or a book about that whole era and cultural area in Britain. I was searching the internet a short while ago, after having read a whole bundle of 60s counter-cultural "lives".

Definitely a gap.

SilkStalkings Mon 07-Jan-13 07:25:17