Talk

Advanced search

What to read next?! help please!

(9 Posts)
AnonymousBird Thu 11-Oct-12 13:24:19

Have just finished Rules of Civility which, though not perfect and possibly a bit "try too hard", I really enjoyed.

My next Book Club book is Greatcoat and I am going to read that at half term.

So, what to read in between now and then?

Piled up are:

Jamrach's Menagerie
Pigeon English
Dark Matter
The Irresistible Inheritance of Wilberforce
Dead Cold by Louise Penny

I have a Kindle full of stuff too, but as the above are either borrowed or library books, I want to read a couple of those first and am just stumped and indecisive today!

TIA.

valiumredhead Thu 11-Oct-12 13:56:04

I really enjoyed Dark Matter.

DuchessofMalfi Thu 11-Oct-12 16:31:12

DH has read Dark Matter. He loves a good ghost story and he says it's very good smile

valiumredhead Thu 11-Oct-12 16:37:39

I think it helped that I read it when I was snowed in last year so it added to the whole atmosphere grin <creepy>

AnonymousBird Thu 11-Oct-12 16:54:46

Oo, maybe that next then. Thank you. Not quite snowed in, but it is certainly seriously dank and murky here, nearly dark at 4.55pm, going to light the fire later and hunker down so it could be the right time.....

Thanks all. xx

I didn't think much of Dark Matter. Not read the others but would read one of them over DM! Anyway, DM only consists of about an hour and a half's worth of reading iirc.

kikidee Thu 11-Oct-12 23:06:02

I've only read Pigeon English from your list but I really enjoyed it and it's a quick read. Completely loved Rules of Civility.

highlandcoo Fri 12-Oct-12 00:42:41

Pigeon English was quite a thought-provoking read; pretty sad I thought.

Wilberforce is an easy read but it goes on a bit too long. Prefer The Girl on the Landing by the same author.

I recently discovered Louise Penny and I'm enjoying her cosy crime novels.

So I guess it depends what sort if mood you're in smile

elspethmcgillicuddy Fri 12-Oct-12 12:34:53

I quite enjoyed 'Dark Matter' but thought the non fiction it was loosely based on- 'A Woman in the Polar Night' was far far better. A truly amazing account of a woman in the 1930s overwintering in Svalbard with her husband.

I would skip 'Jamrach's Menagerie' tbh. I thought it was a poorer version of 'Life of Pi' without the poeticism and profundity.

Pigeon English is good but a bit emotionally draining!

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now