Talk

Advanced search

Book Clubs - is there still life in the book once it's read?

(16 Posts)
EJMack Mon 18-Jul-11 19:52:33

I'm a new indie author (a new career after raising two boys) trying to find ways to reach my audience. Girlfriends all think book clubs could be the way forward - what do you think? once a book is read is it forgotten or does word of mouth kick in (assuming it's any good)? would this be a worthwhile promo route or do you prefer to stick to the big guns (i.e. major publishing houses)?

CoteDAzur Mon 18-Jul-11 22:53:30

It depends on the kind of book you intend to write.

Books that are superficial, brain-dead, and dull but touching on a somewhat feminine subject like Memory Keeper's Daughter and 1000 Splendid Suns do have a niche in book clubs. IMHO, this is because they give women the illusion that they are reading a good book and make them feel good about themselves.

If you will be writing anything else, I wouldn't count much on book clubs.

EJMack Tue 19-Jul-11 22:34:54

so you're saying intelligent book reading women don't like to be challenged by the darker side of the human psyche? have you had a bad book club experience??

Lightshines Tue 19-Jul-11 22:50:02

CoteDAzur - your post is patronising on so many levels
EJMack - word of mouth does kick in (a good example is 'Into the Darkest Corner' which was recommended here on MN), however I don't think you are going to achieve anything like the Shawshank effect relying on book clubs alone

EJMack Tue 19-Jul-11 22:57:16

thanks for that Lightshines - the book is available on amazon, smashwords, lulu etc plus pages on goodreads etc but am finding it hard to reach my audience directly. am expecting online reviews come august, just wondered whether the cost of supplying paperbacks to bookclubs was worth it..

Lightshines Tue 19-Jul-11 23:06:46

interesting idea about supplying books to book clubs - does that work as a business model? I would have thought it would have been very expensive.