Talk

Advanced search

How long to drop a dress size...

(10 Posts)
bobdog Tue 03-Nov-09 18:58:21

....with sensible eating, no alchol except at weekends and moderate exercise.

Never having felt the need to diet before children but over the last two years the weight has slowly crept up and I now have to face the fact that I'm a dress size larger then my wardrobe. How long roughly can I expect it to take to get from a 14 to 12?
Is it better to track progress and how do you do it, I've currently no scales in house,can I just do it on measurements?

All top tips greatefully recieved.

mamster Tue 03-Nov-09 20:35:32

I am no expert but I have read a lot of stuff. I would say that a weight loss of 1 to 2 lb a week is reasonable. I went with the objective of getting back into my old jeans (which I loved) rather than a target weight though. So yes, you can do it with a tape measure. Measure whatever you want to target (tummy, thighs etc).

After my DS's I did it different ways:
1. I did LOADS of star jumps and sit ups (remember to keep your legs bent), lots of walking and relatively healthy eating. It worked a treat.
2. Being unable to do lots of walking (DS1 doesn't walk fast enough!) I decided to diet. I went with this eat 6 times a day thing - 3 meals and 3 snacks, but all quite small and relatively healthy. So for snacks think yogurt or fruit cake or fruit. Normal meals but small portions. Plus I did some light exercise in the house (steps on the bottom stair holding DS2, squats while singing at bed time etc).

You can probably find details on diets on the internet. I found diets difficult to stick to and went for basically being a healthy eater instead. My DS2 is 13 months and I'm back to a size 10 in my old jeans.

Remember to limit the alcohol too!!

mamster Tue 03-Nov-09 20:36:33

I read that you should only do the measurement once a week otherwise you won't notice the improvement (forgot to say that)

bobdog Wed 04-Nov-09 10:59:30