Talk

Advanced search

My weight and my job

(8 Posts)
crikeyomikey Tue 30-Aug-16 20:53:30

Evening all.

I am a secondary school teacher. I've taught forever, so it's not like I'm new to the job, I'm good at what I do and I generally enjoy it and have good relationships with the kids. The thing is, I'm so incredibly fat now, after having gained a million stone (more or less!) during my three pregnancies, that I have genuinely worked myself up into a panic about going back next week. My weight affects my confidence, and I have to fight to stop this affecting my work. I keep thinking that I want a job where people don't laugh or comment on your weight so readily, even if they think it! And I want to feel confident to do my job despite my weight, because I think half the job is bluff and acting! I suppose I am asking for reassurance / advice on how to ignore any negative comments etc. Please don't tell me to just lose weight - I am trying my best!

Themoleisdead Tue 30-Aug-16 21:02:11

I don't have any useful advice but I really sympathise with this - I have put on 3 stone due to a combination of menopause and thyroid problems and it has really sapped my confidence. When you teach you are on show and teenagers can be critical. I am trying to boost my confidence with good hair, nails and make up and by making sure my clothes fit properly.

antimatter Tue 30-Aug-16 21:03:44

I don't know about other jobs but in IT where I work it doesn't matter at all how you look. I am sure some office based jobs are less forgiving but people who are around technology ale very forgiving.

My experience is such that when I feel confident in myself my weight doesn't bother me. I worry that I should lose it for health reasons but not for how I look.

Popskipiekin Tue 30-Aug-16 21:12:45