Talk

Advanced search

Veggie weightloss

(5 Posts)
Bullshitbingo Tue 08-Dec-15 16:48:27

Hi all, I'm new to this part of the website so apologies if there is already a thread about this.
I need a bit of support. I'm 5'7, have two children (3 & 1) and my eating since dc2 has been a bit crazy. As of Monday morning I tipped the scales at 11st 10lbs, officially the heaviest I've ever been.
The problem is, I've always been a bit yoyo with my weight, which since puberty has fluctuated between about 10st and 11st 7, or a dress size 12-14. Even though I'm not technically obese, I am definitely now 'overweight'. To complicate matters I am a veggie, and a lazy one at that, so my main downfall seems to be cheese, bread and other white stodge. I think I'm addicted to carbs, but I've never actually been able to stick to a diet for longer than 3 hours, usually because I forget I'm meant to be on one and eat a load of crap, then think 'fuck it' and give up.
I've had a look at ww and sw, but neither seem like my kind of thing. The veggie recipes look a bit rubbish, and there aren't many of them. I've toyed with the idea of trying veganism for a while as that might take me back to basics, but I wonder if I'd struggle with how strict it is and give up.
Does anyone have any tips for veggie weight loss diets/plans? I really don't want to slide into middle aged obesity and I can see that's the way I'm headed if I don't sort myself out sad

SpongeBobJudgeyPants Tue 08-Dec-15 16:51:50

I eat quorn, cottage cheese (with garlic pepper) and occasionally have the 30% less fat cheese slices (it's sliced thinner than I could manage at home, so less calories).

DyslexicScientist Tue 08-Dec-15 16:55:16

Load up on sweet potatoes!

I'm vegan and love them.

Stay away from bread and chees.

Try spouted rye bread.

Bullshitbingo Tue 08-Dec-15 16:58:39

Will try rye bread, thank you

Bullshitbingo Tue 08-Dec-15 16:59:43

How do you stay away from bread, it's so lovely?

Join the discussion