Talk

Advanced search

Help me come up with a healthy packed lunch.

(17 Posts)
Pipbin Wed 25-Nov-15 19:20:51

Given the choice I would have a cheese and pickle sandwich on granary bread everyday.
However, when I was doing weight watchers I didn't find that I lost weight until switched to salad.
I've put weight back on and stopping the sandwiches seems to be an easy step to take. However I am sick to the back fucking teeth of bastard salad.
What can I have that is vegetarian, easy to transport and quick to eat as I am a teacher so my lunch time is short?
I have access to a microwave and toaster.
There is little that I don't like (except meat and fish).

ecuse Wed 25-Nov-15 19:29:35

I make a big frittata at the weekend - 15 eggs, loads of veg, cheese - cut into 6 wedges and bring for breakfast / lunch. It's nice either cold or hot. Keeps for the week in the fridge.

ecuse Wed 25-Nov-15 19:30:09

Fairly filling, too.

ChilliAndBint Wed 25-Nov-15 19:39:11

I'd make a big pot of stew,curry or whatever. Portion it out and freeze. You are unlikely to pick at your meal before lunch if its in one frozen block.

Emz449 Wed 25-Nov-15 21:24:12

Soup! Easy to make and so filling, great for the cold weather

Blondie1984 Wed 25-Nov-15 21:31:17

when you say "salad" - what do you have in your salad?

MinesAPintOfTea Wed 25-Nov-15 21:38:44

Homemade soup. I make vats of it at the weekend/on days off and we both take different ones into work each day. Frozen in the morning then microwave at lunchtime.

dementedma Wed 25-Nov-15 21:45:36

Agree soup. Take in a small spud and nuke it in the microwave. Serve with cheese, beans, coleslaw.
Hard boiled eggs are low carb and filling.

MinesAPintOfTea Wed 25-Nov-15 21:50:06

Even better: bake small spuds when you have the oven on at the weekend, and just reheat at lunchtime. Nice and soft and fluffy. But have with veg, not cheese or beans.

Pipbin Wed 25-Nov-15 21:53:14

Soup is a plan!
Thank you.

FabergeEggs Wed 25-Nov-15 22:02:27