Talk

Advanced search

Did anyone do their own makeup..

(52 Posts)
BluePony Mon 22-Jan-18 19:05:38

And be pleased with the finished product? I pretty much have to do mine; very rural and no-one here does it; I could go to counters /book in lessons with MAC to get tips etc but I won't be able to on the day. Did anyone else do theirs and were you happy with the result? How long does it take etc?

TIA!

PeepoPleaseNo Mon 22-Jan-18 19:12:26

Hi, yes I did mine. I quite like makeup but I'm not a pro or anything and don't go in for contouring or fancy brows or anything.

I went to a MAC counter for a demo and spent about £150, and I was kindly given a gift by a friend of a load of Mac brushes. I did a bit of a practice beforehand and then on the day I just went for it. Not sure what I would have done if it hadn't gone well but thankfully the stars aligned and it worked!

It looked good I think - I was 25 and had perfect skin and no wrinkles at the time! It was quite natural although I had plenty on as well as false lashes I put on myself. I just made sure I felt confident with each stage and left myself plenty of time to do it.

Nowadays I definitely would get a make up artist, but now I have far more disposable income and am less fresh faced! That said, I got my makeup done for my sister's wedding recently and it was very, very heavy. It looked great in photos but a little odd in real life.

PeepoPleaseNo Mon 22-Jan-18 19:13:16

Think I left myself about half an hour to do it? Maybe 45 mins? Can't quite remember. But I made sure I wasn't rushed and my hair was done.

AnneLovesGilbert Mon 22-Jan-18 19:15:47

Yes, and I was very happy with it!

I do it every other day and wouldn’t trust anyone to do it for me.

Just popping out but I’ll be back with tips. Primer!

ScreamingValenta Mon 22-Jan-18 19:16:28

Yes, I did, but I had a very low key wedding. I just wore the make up I'd normally wear, but I took extra care in applying it.

Crumbs1 Mon 22-Jan-18 19:20:24