Talk

Advanced search

DS, 13 months, only just beginning to 'get' solids. Anyone else's DC take this long??

(12 Posts)
WindUpBird Wed 10-Jun-09 11:25:33

I've been offering him solids for the past 7 months and really it's only been in the last couple of weeks that he has chosen to swallow the food. Surely this must be a record? I can't believe how long it's taken him. He's been happy to play with the food till now and making huge amounts of mess but now he might eat almost a quarter of all food offered to him.

I just wondered if taking this long might be an indicator of some underlying digestion issue? Or, more likely, he's just a wee bit lazy/not that interested in food. Is he the only baby to take so long to get used to eating??

whiteorchid Mon 15-Jun-09 15:12:26

I think my DD is in the same category as your DS. (Have just posted about 8mo not being interested in solids.) She's just not that into it. She'll play with it, chuck it around, suck on it a bit, but not much of it actually makes it down her throat. I'm finding it quite frustrating, but perhaps it's not that unusual? Will be following your thread with interest...

PiggyPenguin Mon 15-Jun-09 19:44:54

my ds is 12 months and is not bothered by food at all. Out of the three meals and puddings I have offered him today he ate the cheese on toast with tomato puree for lunch and refused absolutely everything at all other meals.

Its frustrating isn't it? Still I keep telling myself that surely eventually he will eat. I may be grey and haggard with the stress of it all by then but surely one day...

Katerina75 Mon 15-Jun-09 19:53:48

My ds was like this and started to "get it" at about 13 months, though still ate very small amounts. By 2 years he was eating what I thought of as "normally" where some of his peers were starting to get pickier. I was stressed about it at the time but it turned out ok - he's 3 now and still a skinny thing but he eats a decent amount and he is growing.