Talk

Advanced search

BLW - They don't really EAT that much do they? A few questions if you please.

(53 Posts)
LuckySalem Mon 07-Jul-08 21:55:31

DD is now 6 months and we started her early on bland puree due to reflux.

However, now she's 6 months I want to go into BLW and let her try what she wants.
Ive done that for a few days and today gave her a couple of cucumber sticks. She sucked at them but didn't really eat them (I assumed it was cos she has no teeth so can't get chunks to chew and swallow) however, I thought about yesterday and she had carrots which ok quite abit went down but we definatly didn't have a clean bowl like we do with purees.

Am I doing something wrong or is this normal?
Also we went onto purees to coat her stomach and allow the milk to stay down. Do you think I can cut the purees out now and doing BLW will coat her stomach enough IYKWIM

Oh another question - I'm a crap cook and apart from frozen veg all I have is frozen meat etc (battered chicken, fish fingers etc) so can I give her stuff like this or should I be getting fresh things for her?

Any ideas what? I'm going shopping tomorrow.

Sorry for all the questions.

LuckySalem Mon 07-Jul-08 22:10:21

Anyone there or is it best to wait till the morning?

PeterDuck Mon 07-Jul-08 22:13:29

Message withdrawn

LuckySalem Mon 07-Jul-08 22:14:48

Thanks PD as long as I know its normal.

Should I be cutting out Puree now or do you think she'll end up being the sicky baby again.
Also any ideas for easy things to cook?

RegenerAitch Mon 07-Jul-08 22:24:47

i think if she's got reflux then it might be a case of trial and error, i'm afraid. i know some babies are fine with blw but i got sent this really interesting email here by a mum of a refluxy baby and she said she'd tweaked things a bit. but the reflux aside, not appearing to eat much is normal. broccoli's good for reassurance as you definitely see it in the nappy [holds nose emoticon] wink