Talk

Advanced search

Baby choked twice with BLW. Advice please!

(20 Posts)
Newmummy0306 Tue 05-Dec-17 20:57:23

Advice please!!

We’re 2 weeks in and both last night and tonight my baby has choked and I’ve had to do back slaps with success. (beetroot face, no noise/coughing, looking very panicked). Last night it was asparagus and tonight tenderstem broccoli.

I’m a nurse so not too phased by this but my partner is terrified, I think he’d much rather give puréed food!

Before this, he would gag a little but not much. Now the gagging has stopped but seems he’s biting off more than he can chew!

I’m not sure what to do to minimise the risk! Surely he shouldn’t be choking 2 nights in a row?!

Thanks in advance x

Singleandproud Tue 05-Dec-17 21:03:26

Both asparagus and broccolli are quite stringy and hard to break down with just gums. Change the foods, fingers of toast and bananas which go soft when gummed, mashed potato or other veg that DC can feed themselves with their hands (best not do this one if you have somewhere to go though it gets everywhere). Remember it is about exploring texture and taste at this stage so if they don't eat anything its fine.

goodbeans Tue 05-Dec-17 21:05:15

I was going to ask if he was genuinely choking but it sounds as though you do know what you are doing! (My friends/dh would claim DS was choking when he was actually coughing...) I would persist but make sure that you don’t turn your back while baby is eating (obvs). This is part of the learning process for baby and it should be a short lived phase?

orangegrape Tue 05-Dec-17 21:06:49

are you on facebook? the baby led weaning uk group is really good for info and advice on things like this smile

Newmummy0306 Tue 05-Dec-17 22:10:36

Singleandproud thank you I’ll try that!

Goodbeans yes definitely choking, I’m really hoping it’s a phase! I love seeing him eating different bits and feeding himself, would be gutted if we had to swap to purée.