Talk

Advanced search

Is there a better way? Weaning

(11 Posts)
GingerPCatt Wed 07-Nov-12 16:28:45

My DS is 16 mo and has a swallowing sensitivity. He was on 4-5 9oz bottles a day and hardly eating any solids. We saw a speech therapist a couple of weeks ago to check his swallowing. She advised us to drastically cut down on his bottles. He now has a morning and midday 5 oz bottle and then a 9oz bottle at bedtime. We've been doing this for a week and a half and seen little improvement. He does eat a bit more than he used to but he's a miserable grump most of the time. He used to be a happy energetic boy but now he tantrums at anything and is low energy.
Has anybody been through this? Does it get better? I just want my happy little guy back! Should I keep persevering and hope he gets the idea that he needs to eat? Or is there another way? I'm starting to lose hope.

mummysmellsofsick Wed 07-Nov-12 16:31:10

Gosh I'm no expert but it sounds like he's going hungry. I'd up the milk again and ask for a second opinion.

mummysmellsofsick Wed 07-Nov-12 16:33:37

I've heard this is good www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/1780660057/ref=redir_mdp_mobile

GingerPCatt Wed 07-Nov-12 16:35:06

I do think a lot of his current grump is due to hunger but I don't know what I can do to convince him that he needs to eat. I talked to a HV yesterday and she agreed with the speech therapist, but I don't think she really understood how little he eats.
I'm having a hard time emotionally thinking that I'm starving my baby sad but I don't know what to do.

GingerPCatt Wed 07-Nov-12 16:36:18

Book ordered- express delivery. Hopefully it will give me some ideas of how to get him to eat. Thanks

mummysmellsofsick Wed 07-Nov-12 16:38:00