Talk

Advanced search

Vegan family lunch

(20 Posts)
Pegase Mon 30-Dec-19 11:14:40

A family member has decided to start eating vegan and is coming for lunch tomorrow. Any recommendations for a quick but celebratory lunch that we can all share? Don't have loads of time to cook due to appts in morning but I am a proficient cook so would like to make something homemade. Was thinking mezze or veggie chilli but seems a bit everyday- haven't seen this family member for an age so would like to make it special.

Lordfrontpaw Mon 30-Dec-19 11:19:11

Both sound fine - all very nice to pop down on the table with lots of lovely salad, bread and olives.

There’s always risotto (anyone who wants cheese can grate it on the top).

Lordfrontpaw Mon 30-Dec-19 11:19:30

What about desert?

Lordfrontpaw Mon 30-Dec-19 11:20:40

Or have a look here: www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/collection/vegan-dinner

I’m a big pasta eater and often the sauces are vegan anyway.

OneHanded Mon 30-Dec-19 11:20:57

We’ve got nine people today and I’m the only vegan, my mum is very sweetly doing bean and violife quesadilla, jacket potatoes, olive bread and a big salad with avocado, roasted beet, etc amongst a sausage onion plait, gammon joint, Camembert, etc.

Pegase Mon 30-Dec-19 11:22:02

Eek hasn't thought of dessert. Is chia pudding a good dessert? Never made it myself though only had it from the supermarket.

Annoying really as I am really good at making a variety of curries that are incidentally vegan but family member hates curry!

DartmoorChef Mon 30-Dec-19 11:22:21

Jus rol puff pastry is vegan. Use that with some roasted root veg and vegan cheese to make a vegan Wellington. Really simple but looks great and tastes very good as well.

Lordfrontpaw Mon 30-Dec-19 11:23:05

How good does this cake look? www.taste.com.au/recipes/vegan-chocolate-cake/5c8514e1-246c-4a3a-9854-75ccd3252764?r=recipes/vegandesserts&c=adNqxEOv/Vegan%20desserts

DartmoorChef Mon 30-Dec-19 11:24:00