Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Vegan weight loss?

(17 Posts)
Todayisanewday75 Tue 02-May-17 07:26:04

Hi, I am just starting out being vegan. I could also do with losing some weight to finally get back to pre DC weight. Previously I have lost weight doing low carb but that doesn't seem possible being vegan. Does anyone have any advice on what's best to eat and what to avoid? Cutting out sugar seems the obvious first step but then I get a bit confused.

ApricotExpat Tue 02-May-17 14:15:25

I think it's easy to lose weight on a vegan diet IF you don't overdose on dates, nut butters, avocado and oils.

Therein lies my current problem!

sprinklemonkey Wed 03-May-17 22:06:57

I think things like avocado, nut butters etc are good as they are the healthy fats and can help you to lose weight (eaten in moderation as everything) as well as keep you much fuller longer and stop that "reaching for more snacks" thing... avoid bread though, starchy carbs, sugar, cakes...those are the things that mean your blood sugar drops and makes you want to eat more again and get hungry quicker. if you read that Blood Sugar diet book by Michael Mosely it will explain - although it's not about veganism there are useful ideas in there for what to eat and not to eat in terms of keeping your blood sugar down to avoid getting hungry again through eating the wrong things...

suggestions are - nut butters, avocado, olive oil, oatcakes, porridge, protein based dishes - eg. lentils / beans etc - dahl, curries, stews, hummus, guacamole kind of things etc will keep you fuller longer and give you the energy you need but with the slow energy release, pair up with a good leafy salad or whatever...!

Rockaby Thu 04-May-17 19:30:52